I/O

Andre Sebastian Pangilinan
So Good.
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2014

--

June 27, 2014

Every year there are a handful of keynotes that I’m so excited for. From Apple’s WWDC to Facebook’s F8, there’s no other thing I love to just sit down and watch. If I was able to attend one of these I would be excited. But no, it isn’t just that. I’m not just visiting and attending one of these conferences. I’m actually working for a company that hosts one of the biggest ones of all time! So this week was absolutely amazing!

Material Design

I loved the build up to it. It’s all anyone talked about at work. We were going to finally announce what we’ve been working on for the past few months (couple weeks for me lol)! I still wanted to be surprised during the keynote though so I tried hiding myself from all the information at work. It was a little hard though but I kept a few things from getting spoiled haha It seemed like everyone was super busy though, especially the higher up people involved in it. But I bet they are all relaxing now that it’s over.

Google I/O 2014 Keynote

Wednesday was the keynote, which was what I was really excited about. Google apparently doesn’t like its Googlers at this event because they want more room for all the other thousands of people but we were about to go to rehearsals and activities here on campus before it. My team live streamed the keynote in our office. It was so much fun to watch it with people who were enjoying it as much as me, usually I’m just alone on my computer haha I tweeted like crazy because I was so excited!

Matias Duarte,
VP of Design, Android

Yesterday I went to one of the I/O events, the Google UX Happy Hour! Wow, that was so great. It was cool because I got to stand in the VIP Googlers line. ☺ I got to hang out with my team and also other interns. Also, omg I got to see a lot of legends like Margaret Stewart from Facebook and Bobby Nath, from Google. But one of the most exciting times I’m never going to forget was meeting Matias Duarte! It was literally one of the coolest times of my life. He told me he’d be glad to have lunch with me and wow people would laugh whenever I told them I wanted to set up time to meet with him. I’m so excited for that now. ☺

This weekend Google is taking us to Great America on Saturday and the Pride Parade on Sunday! Super excited!

--

--