The Plop Factor

Michel Trottier-McDonald
so many slugs
Published in
2 min readDec 16, 2015
IMG_4722
To new beginnings!

As if I didn’t have enough blogs already, I started a new one. The Plop Factor is my technical blog. In the brutal world of attempting to attract attention on your technical savoir-faire for the purpose of getting paid, a technical blog seems to be a must-have.

I spend a lot of my time trying to learn new things, to the point that I wonder what I’m actually good at, or what I’m really passionate about. On this new blog, I will share what I learn during my forays in new technical areas. I will discuss my participation in Kaggle competitions, good documentation I find, tips and tricks I will have picked up along the way… I don’t care much whether this blog turns out useful to anyone. It’s more of a personal journal that I will keep to remember (and let’s be honest, showcase to a potential employer) the things I learn. I learn best when trying to explain things to others in a way I that would myself appreciate, so incidentally, it may turn out useful to some.

The format will be different: smaller, more frequent posts, more casual, focused on a technically-inclined audience, and probably less grammatically correct. But hey, this is an experiment. Let’s see how it turns out. Here were go!

--

--

Michel Trottier-McDonald
so many slugs

ex-particle physicist turned data scientist who spends way too much time reading about North American politics