No, Amanda, I won’t look at your demo!

Daniel Mirolli
So Much SaaS I Sell It
3 min readApr 19, 2017

I get cold email intros all the time. I’m sure I’m not alone. We send them. We receive them. So why the hell are they still so bad!?

Amanda, whoever you are, this is the worst cold email I’ve ever seen and you sent it to our entire organization.

Sales, Way to get more resulted AdWords

Hi Sales!

My name is Amanda.

If you want your PPC ads to take your business to the next level
but you cannot do it because of its expensiveness, then follow our
recommendation and we show you how to place your website banner
on top without PPC.

We will place your website on the top of all the search engines when your
keyword is searched.

To view this unique technology please take a moment and go to our website.
Below you can see step by step instruction of online demo, which will show
how it will look like on search engines:
- Go to our website’s DEMO page;
- Fill form with your website signpost com and keyword;
- Click on VIEW ONLINE DEMO and see result page;

Best Regards,
Amanda

No hyperlinks. Required to fill out a form. Grammatical errors that make Bush read like Thoreau.

Amanda, has anyone ever done this? Has anyone. EVER. TAKEN THE TIME TO TYPE YOUR WEBSITE IN THEIR BROWSER, CLICK GO, FILL OUT A F-ING FORM, AND REQUEST A DEMO FROM THIS EMAIL!?!

Here’s what I know about you from this email. You don’t double check your work. You have no idea who I am. You have no idea what we do. You didn’t bring me value. You had no concept of

But the biggest offense? The biggest mistake an email like this makes? The main reason why I will never consider working with topbannermarketing.com?

You’re story-telling like it’s 1997!

Do I mean that?

Yes. You’re 20 years out of date.

Does ANYONE in their right mind think that banner ads and PPC is the right way to build a business now? This is the magazine ad of online marketing.

Forget the fact that 100 Million devices currently use AdBlocker Plus and won’t see your ads in the first place. Forget the fact that an ad like this provides me with zero value. Forget the fact that I haven’t watched a commercial in 8 years and you’re expecting me to actively click on an ad.

Your PPC Ad is shouting at me from the street corner to give you money. I’m going to keep driving to wherever I was already headed.

When Data Ignores Behavior

Marketers — I get it. We love data. We love that Google Adwords and PPC have data. But if you’re not trying to target the bottom 10% of the spending population, you’re wasting your money. No big spender wants to be treated that way. There’s a reason Wal-Mart spends 71% of it’s PLA budget on PPC each year. It’s Wal-Mart.

If you’re targeting the bottom 10% of the spending population then PPC and banners is for you.

Facebook Ads, Instagram Influencers, AI-Powered Email. It’s time you start marketing in the year that we live in. Welcome to my Spam folder, Amanda.

--

--