Michelle Scorziello — Interview

Regina Clarke
So, My Friend, Why Do You Write?
16 min readOct 5, 2022

--

I first came across Michelle Scorziello when she wrote an article about her husband’s hypochondria that made me laugh out loud…Travels with my Hypochondriac. A. K. A. My Husband. Many of her articles have the same distinct humor about life, about what she sees and feels. Yet some of her writing also deals with the way life throws us curve balls, how we have to find our way amidst whatever happens and somehow come out intact. It is her willingness to look at it all so directly, entering the dynamic of living as it is, right before us, without fabrication or judgment, that continues to draw me to her writing now.

She also writes often with a poetic ambience, as here…

From Grasmere Journal:

“I have found a summer house with a stable door and red-tiled floor and windows with black curlicue handles. There is a wood table and five stout chairs. No view of the lake, just the tops of the rhododendrons and Helm Crag. Helm Crag is green and where the green is threadbare it is pink, the bottom half lush with evergreens. The trees sparkle with birdsong.

…We shall walk to Alcock Tarn today and return for lunch and maybe this afternoon walk to Ambleside like Dorothy: Always walking and drying linen and waiting for letters and writing letters and drinking tea, lying down with a headache and sticking peas. Wet poets arriving at…

--

--

Regina Clarke
So, My Friend, Why Do You Write?

Storyteller and dreamer. I write about the English language, being human, the magic of life, and metaphysics. Ph.D. in English Literature. www.regina-clarke.com