A woman named Amelia

Molly Chard
Penciled (in)
Published in
3 min readMar 19, 2024

Amelia is forging a new path when it comes to university. It was a gift to sit down with her and discuss learning and passion.

A woman is writing intently at a cafe.

Congrats on getting into Writing and Editing at RMIT.

Thank-you, I worked really hard on my application piece, so it’s nice that others liked it too.

Is that how RMIT determines who they accept?

Yeh we needed to provide a sample of our work, and a spiel about why we are interested in the course.

It’s great that the creative courses have creative entry pathways.

I think it’s so important, I would have been put off if it relied on my old school scores or something — that feels like a lifetime ago.

Hahah I’d be fucked if we still relied on scores. So what did you do for your application?

I actually wrote an original piece, kind of a short story about a river and these women that live by the river. My lovely gorgeous friend helped me edit it!

I can honestly see your eyes light up when you talk about it.

Yeh man, it’s a good feeling when you find something that starts a little fire in your belly. I think I have been on the search for that for a while.

What was that search like?

Well during school I wasn’t exactly a head down student - except when it came to art and sport, I’m very competitive. Art didn’t seem too stable so I decided to go to Uni for a sports science degree. Fresh out of school Covid hit and I did two years of that degree online. Never really felt the passion but wasn’t sure if I was even supposed to.

Wow that’s a pretty ballsy change of direction.

I think the word ‘necessary’ fits better.

Haha fair enough. You think this course will carve out a path for you?

Not really. In the end I’m the only one that can carve out a path, I’m thinking of this course more as a chisel in this whole carving analogy. Or maybe this will lead me to another change of direction, but all I can really do is follow that bubble of excitement. I feel really privileged that I can say that.

Yeh I think we sometimes forget that. Do you think that we should look for that excitement in our work?

Obviously the ideal job would be one that ignited that passion, I think because we work so much, it would be lovely to spend that time doing something that you love. I don’t know how realistic this is. But I also don’t think that everything I learn needs to be implemented into my work in a direct way. My desire to do this course is fuelled by curiosity. Regardless of my future job I want to learn these skills, and explore the writing world. I think University or just any education is so crucial for our personal development. Even sitting at home learning to knit through YouTube can be a beautiful moment of self-care and self-exploration. The core of the human spirit comes from new learning and new experiences.

That’s quite an interesting sentiment.

But also don’t listen to me I’m only 21 and broke.

Haha. No I agree, I just want to be a sponge soaking up the world.

And you can! We all can, it’s beautiful.

Think that’s a nice note to leave it on. Thanks for your time today.

No worries, always a pleasure.

--

--