Meet Dan Anderson, Soar’s UX and graphic designer

Soar
Soar
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2019

Each fortnight we’ve decided to provide a feature interview with a member of the Soar team, including a fun video segment called “Soar in 60 Seconds”. This fortnight’s spotlight is on Dan Anderson, UX and Graphic Designer for Soar.

Soar in 60 Seconds: Dan Anderson

Dan Anderson

UX & Graphic Designer

Tell us a bit about your background and what you do at Soar?

I have been a multimedia and graphic designer for over 20 years, so my main role at Soar is producing video, graphics, UI designs, PR and marketing material as well as audio. I am also a CASA Certified Drone pilot, so I bring a different perspective of the drone industry to Soar.

How important is it to be creative in this industry of maps and aerial imagery?

I think it’s very important to be creative in this industry because it’s my job to make the ordinarily ‘bland’ world of maps become a data source that’s exciting and fun to use. To achieve this I have to be creative in the way I present maps and data to the audience.

What is it about what we’re building that gets you most excited?

One of the most exciting aspects of Soar for me is that we are creating a new marketplace for drone imagery that will help build the world’s first Super-map at high resolution, which will allow anyone to view any part of the world with extreme detail.

What do you enjoy most about a company like Soar?

The team.

We have a great team made up of various backgrounds that make Soar and exciting and fun place to work.

Finally, you’ve been known around the office for your awesome DJ-skills. How did you get into that and who are your musical influences?

I began DJing around 12 years ago. It was a natural development to move from the world of live music to the dance floor considering most of my productions have a groove-friendly feel to them. My main influencers vary, depending on the style that I’m writing, but they swing from rock bands to dance music masters like Deadmau5 and Daft Punk.

About Soar: Soar is a decentralised global Super-map built on blockchain technology. The Super-map will include access to all mapping systems including daily satellite imagery feeds, high-resolution aerial sensors from planes and drone content collected by the greater drone community. All connected using blockchain technology to connect and share dynamic mapping data. Soar aims to be the decentralised blockchain platform for the future of all maps and imagery.

Contact
Website: http://www.soar.earth
Telegram: https://t.me/SoarEarth
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Soar_Earth
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SoarEarthOfficial/

--

--