Why Mummy Drinks at Christmas- Gill Sims

Joanne Tiler
Sober Book Club
2 min readDec 11, 2023

--

First and foremost this has to come with a trigger warning. It makes wine sound very appealing. I totally bought into mummy wine culture, even though I left it a long time ago! Of course I stuck with alcohol free wine but it almost had me believing wine is so ok to cope with stress! So do be careful.

That said, although a part of me wanted to hate this book for the reasons mentioned above, I blooming loved it. I could see so much of myself in mummy. I literally howled with laughter and she really is so relatable.

I too want everything perfect and have visions of the perfect Christmas where everyone is rosey cheeked and smiling and laughing. That’s me too! She gets me. And minus the alcohol, she could be me.

Her children have grown up and she reflects on the stresses and strains on Christmas past, the rose coloured spectacles make an appearance and oh how she adored it when the children were small.

It does, with humour, recognise that us females really do have the weight of the world on our shoulders. We were told we can have it all, but we realise they lied. We struggle with it all.

BUT that is ok. We are all doing our best, we all get things wrong. But we are in it together.

I absolutely loved this. I was so sad as I was galloping to the end. I wanted it to continue on and on. I would read this book with an open mind, with the spirit of Christmas in your heart, wrap up in a blanket with hot chocolate and just allow yourself to embrace the humour and laugh till your sides hurt…

Jo Tiler

Step into Sobriety

Instagram @sober.step

--

--

Joanne Tiler
Sober Book Club
0 Followers
Writer for

@sober.step Instagram . I help clients make the changes they want to to make around alcohol