Can Astrology Support Sobriety?

Expert Q&A with astrologer Kaitlyn Ramsay

Dana Leigh Lyons
Sober.com Newsletter
9 min readJul 24, 2024

--

This series showcases conversations with experts who are sober themselves and working in the recovery space. Today’s edition features Kaitlyn Ramsay, an empowerment coach, astrologer, and writer from Canada now living in Thailand with her dog, Lady. After she quit drinking, she needed to find a way to process the emotions she was finally able to feel, and astrology offered her the tools needed to stay sober and emotionally regulated. Check out her newsletter, Loving the Dark Parts, where she writes about real life through the lens of astrology.

How might astrology inform and guide addiction recovery and sobriety? For example, are there certain times of the month, year, or longer cycles that align with phases in the recovery process (e.g., surrender, taking accountability, making amends, shifting habits and patterns)?

A great starting point for those in addiction recovery and sobriety would be through the natal chart itself. It allows us to fully see ourselves. I’ve noticed through my own journey and speaking with others in recovery, seeing ourselves is something we often struggle with. There are parts of ourselves that we are trying to hide or mask, consciously or not, and the natal chart gives us access to these parts in a more compassionate and objective way. (1)

There are many longer cycles that can align with the recovery process, too. One that comes to mind is the progressed moon cycle. Every two and a half years, our progressed moon changes signs. This cycle colors our emotional evolution, and it gives a focus point that lasts long enough to make a sustainable difference.

For example, when I got sober, it was during my progressed moon in Scorpio. The Scorpio progressed moon is a time where we need to be honest with ourselves. There’s a depth to a Scorpio cycle that leads us into death and rebirth. During that time, I got sober, went to therapy, dove deep into my astrology, and made friends with all of the parts of myself I hated. I lost things, too, like friends, my partner, and my old way of being. I often describe the time before my progressed moon in Scorpio as my “past life” because it really feels as though the old me died during that period, and the new version of me was born.

Each progressed moon sign has a different flavor, much like what you described above, that aligns with phases of recovery.

I’d be happy to go through each of the twelve signs over on Loving the Dark Parts for those interested in learning more. It’s a great access point into our current cycle, and one that’s quite profound.

In the meantime, to break it down by elements: Earth cycles tend to be cycles of accountability and building structure. Air cycles are for communication, gaining knowledge, and relationships. Water cycles are times of surrender and confronting our inner world. And fire cycles are for physical action, accessing our voice, and finding joy.

How does an astrological reading work, and how might this be tailored to support someone who’s considering sobriety or is newly sober?

The reading structure will depend on the astrologer — every practitioner has a different style depending on their background, who they’ve trained under, and their own interests. As previously mentioned, it’s important to find someone whose energy you align with, or by word of mouth — especially for those who are newly sober.

In my readings, I don’t predict anything. I give a sense of the energetics at play and advice on how to move through them, but I never give definitive outcomes. I believe as humans we have free will, and I won’t do anything to jeopardize yours. My goal is to provide a reading that gives power back to the individual, rather than take it away. Many people have an image of astrologers being fortune tellers; while some astrologers may be both, it’s often not the case. I’m not a therapist, but I have trained with and worked for Debra Silverman (who is a psychotherapist) and learned to read a chart from a similar lens. While I continuously study under new teachers, I carry the psychological lens with me no matter what.

We start by recalling the past to review some important dates in your life. These are usually times of big change and growth. This allows me to get to know you and open dialogue, while matching your experience to your chart. We then talk about your character — the highs and lows you may experience. Sometimes tears are shed, sometimes we laugh; mostly we’re giving you space to say what’s on your heart through prompts I create from your chart. We’re giving space to the parts of you that don’t usually get the spotlight.

Lastly, I give practical advice based on where you are now, as determined by our conversation and the current transits you may be experiencing. Throughout the whole reading, I’m receiving what you’re saying and finding tender points that could use more love. Based on your chart and our conversation, you walk away with points to keep in mind — that’s when the work begins. Awareness is one thing, what we do with it is where the real magic happens.

Do you notice any astrological patterns related to when people tend to hit rock bottom, start considering sobriety, or get sober? For example, are any of those milestones more likely during someone’s Saturn return or at other pivotal times?

The Saturn return is a pivotal time, but one that stands out even more to me is the progressed lunar return; the timing is similar, but the progressed lunar return is what activates the inner tension before Saturn comes to put in the work. The progressed lunar return is the time in the cycle where the progressed moon reaches the point it was when you were born. By this time, it has traveled through each sign (for 2.5 years each).

If you’ve heard of the “27 club,” many of its “members” include those who struggled in one way or another; whether with alcohol, drugs, and/or mental health to some capacity. The one common thread I’ve noticed is they were all (of those I’ve looked into) experiencing their progressed lunar return. I was also experiencing mine on the day I got sober, and I see how it could’ve gone the other way for me, too. (2) The progressed lunar return also happens around the ages 54 and 81.

The progressed lunar return is a time we’re met with our emotions in a confronting way and we’re pressed to come back to our heart to reflect on what truly matters to us. The Saturn return then kicks in shortly after, which is when we might begin taking action, if we choose to take responsibility.

This is one example of a transit we all experience around the same age, but some other rock bottom moments I’ve seen are during Pluto transits, and sometimes Neptune, especially in the realm of sobriety. These transits could happen at any time depending on the person’s individual chart.

I understand that astrology is serious, but it also feels fun! I’m curious whether, as a coach and astrologer, you’ve found the modality to be an appealing entry for folks seeking to understand themselves better and make helpful changes.

Astrology can be both serious and fun! Like any modality, it can be used in the capacity we’re ready to meet it. Many of us have experienced a horoscope at some point in our lives. For some, it may remain entertainment — reading horoscopes online or poking fun at friends who display their signs’ characteristics. For others, they will feel the pull to go deeper into it.

If astrology is meant to find you, it will, but not everyone will connect with it, and that’s okay.

Astrology is a great entry point for those seeking to understand themselves better. I still learn things about myself, and it’s always fun to uncover a new layer of me. Maybe it’s the Leo in me, but I love learning about myself, and astrology is a cool access point.

It’s not for everyone. Especially those who use astrology to shame and blame. Some may blame the planets for things in their lives they’re not yet willing to change, or they blame the zodiac sign of the bad relationship they had, swearing off that sign without realizing it’s a part of them they’re not ready to face. Those who tend to take astrology more seriously are those who are ready to do the work. Astrology isn’t a matter of “these things are happening to me,” but rather an opportunity to get to know yourself deeply, get to know the energetics, and then work in tandem with the energies at play to co-create your reality.

If you’re ready to do the work, astrology is a great place to start. Just know that it’s in your hands, you’re in the driver’s seat of your life. Astrology shows the map and the conditions of the road ahead, and you’re behind the wheel.

If you don’t feel the call, it’s okay to keep astrology at a surface level. Whether you dive deep or completely disregard it, you’ll still experience it because it’s happening whether we learn about it or not. Dive in at the depth you’re ready to meet it, and continue to find the tools that work for you.

You’ve written about the pivotal role of astrology in your own sobriety journey. I’m curious how this has shifted over time, moving from early sobriety to where you are now — more than four years sober.

In the beginning stages, my whole world revolved around the planets. It became a new addiction. I used my chart as a map to get to know myself at a time when I had no idea who I was. It helped me unlock parts of myself that have been hidden since childhood.

I used it as a tool to access the observer’s perspective, to look outside of myself to see from a new point of view. I relied on the chart to guide me to my inner world because I couldn’t access that part of me on my own.

As my astrology practice continued, it helped me form a connection to my body that no other tool has offered me. Astrology guided me to feel the shifts of energy in my body as I gained awareness of the natural cycles. It felt less scary to gain access to my senses again (after over a decade of numbing myself) because I could see it on the chart in front of me — it made sense and it felt safe.

Now astrology lives within me, it’s no longer something outside of me.

As time went on, I gained access to my body (emotions, sensations, needs, and desires), and I relied on the chart less — now my body can feel and trust the natural cycles.

I mostly use it as a calendar and a second opinion. I plan my schedule based on when I know I’ll have energy, and allow myself to move gently when I know it will be low. I adjust my exercise and activities based on the moon and my menstrual cycle. Astrology allows me to anticipate what’s coming and provides ideas on how I might choose to move through it. If I find myself having a hard time, I will consult my chart to access a new perspective, but even this is rare now. It gives me access to the observer’s perspective when I may be too “in it” to see myself clearly. Lastly, I use it as a reminder to reflect and to celebrate myself at certain points of the cycle, something I often forget to do without the touch points.

Thank you, Kaitlyn! We’re grateful for your beautiful work in the recovery space and community.

We’d love for you (yes, you!) to share in the comments:

  • Have you received an astrological reading at any point during your sobriety journey? If so, did it play a role in your choice to get and stay sober?
  • Whether or not astrology resonates with you, does the “27 club” sound familiar? Did you experience a significant source of inner tension around that age? Or, perhaps, around age 54 or 81?
  • Is there anything else you’d like to share or ask Kaitlyn?

And if you found this Q&A helpful, please leave a clap or 50. It lets others know there’s something useful here and will help us grow this community.

Want to be published on Sober.com? If you’re a sober writer, we invite you to contribute! Reach out to hello@danaleighlyons.com for details.

Notes

  1. It’s important to find a reputable astrologer who looks at the chart with compassion and in a way that is supportive. There are some horror stories of unsupportive situations, so please be sure to do your research when looking for an astrologer.
  2. Of course there are many factors that play into the 27 club phenomenon, but this is just one connection I’ve made with the astrology of it.

--

--