Gerardo Ramirez
Soccer Blur
Published in
3 min readJun 23, 2016

--

After five complete days of mourning here are my thoughts on the Mexico vs Chile Game:

I would like to start by saying that my direct and honest opinion is; I still feel embarrassed. The ravage that Mexico experienced with a 7–0 defeat to Chile will be something that will hurt for a long time.

I waited to post my story because I wanted to wait for my initial reaction to settle. Personally I wanted to be more rational than emotional in my reflection. Not because I wanted to be profound, or have the best response, but because I wear my emotions on my sleeve and I needed the days to ensure my post was meaningful and the reality of the situation. I didn’t want it to be about me venting. I have my drinking buddies for that.

So where do I begin. It’s a little challenging since I can either analyze the disastrous tactics behind Juan Carlos Osorio, his lack of preparation, the lack of heart the players displayed, or how this is the worst result in the history of Mexican soccer.

Well, I won’t choose any of those, as I think I’ve read enough tweets and articles to understand the scope of those topics as they mostly hit on similar points. I think I’ll choose to talk about us fans. Here are some things that we fans need to work on:

Protest and demand an up tick in the quality of teams we play against during our Friendlies

Being in the USA, we are spoiled to get to watch Mexico play on a yearly basis. We see the level of maturity it is by Mexico being the home team in all of their games. We need the Mexican Federation to bless us with stronger opponents or stop using the USA as a cash cow with no investment on the future of the Mexican national teams with regards to the friendlies. Fans need to stop flocking to watch these easy friendlies that are scheduled during the FIFA dates. Fans should also demand that the players from ‘European teams’ commit to the games. It shouldn’t be that they are allowed to skip the friendlies because of excuses. Wearing the Mexican shirt is a privilege and that type of mentality should be ingrained into their hearts.

Stop hating on MLS

Mexican fans have this thing that they hate MLS because they believe its a lesser league. It’s a league for retirement or the play is lacking. We are quick to judge decisions by players like Giovanni Dos Santos who decide to come to the MLS and play. We need to support the MLS and make it a strong league so that young Mexican players are attracted to the league. This will help garner a cohesive system that will allow Liga Mx and MLS to have Mexican talent which will trickle to having players in better shape for their respective national teams.

Respect the field and experience

I’m tired of seeing our fans act like barbarians at the games. I’m tired of seeing our fans pick fights with the fans of our opponents. I’m tired of seeing fans turn their backs on the Mexican players. I’m tired of seeing fans use the Mexico games as an experience to get wasted and act like fools. I’m tired of fans mistreating other Mexican. I’m tired of seeing fans throw junk on the field. I’m tired of seeing fans get wasted to the point where they become dangerous to themselves and others. The games are meant to be enjoyable, and to be about soccer. Two teams of 11 players on a collision course to showcase their skills in an attempt to defeat their opponents. And lastly I’m tired of hearing the ehh puto chant.

Understand our Capability

We fans have the ability to heal the deepest wounds(link my tweet), with our loyalty and comfort we will help Mexican players as a team rise from this. Us fans need these experiences as it will help us become stronger and more united.

--

--

Gerardo Ramirez
Soccer Blur

Traveler. Soccer Enthusiast. Software Engineer by trade and wanderer by choice.