Why the Greenville Triumph can win the USL League One championship (and why you should care)

Our Greenville expert takes a look at the USL League One title game, the odds against North Texas SC, and at just how much this team means to him.

Chris Ashley
Soccer 'n' Sweet Tea
8 min readOct 17, 2019

--

(Photo Credit: Brittany Hildreth)

In this week’s Monday edition of the Soccer ‘n’ Sweet Tea newsletter, I was called a “lunatic.” Not surprisingly, this was not the first time I had heard that sentiment following Greenville Triumph SC’s 1–0 semifinal victory over Lansing Ignite FC on Saturday night.

The question is why?

Why was I (lovingly?) referred to as a lunatic by the overlords of the SNST ecosystem?

Why did my wife look at with me with complete disbelief and incomprehension?

Why am I on a constant caffeine drip in preparation for this weekend?

The answer is simple. Your boy is heading to Texas.

Greenville will face North Texas SC on Saturday at 7 p.m. ET for the inaugural USL League One Championship. If you are not a “lunatic” and are, therefore, not traveling to Texas to support the team, you can watch the game on ESPN+.

Can the Triumph actually win this thing? Should you even care about this matchup?

Yes and yes. Let’s dig in!

(Photo by: Brittany Hildreth)

Without a doubt, Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas, will present a daunting task for the Triumph on Saturday night. North Texas SC has been the class of League One all year. They finished the season first in points (56 with a record of 17–6–5), first in goals scored (55), first in shots taken (426), first in passes and passing accuracy (84%), and second in conversion rate (18%).

But there is still reason for hope for fans in the upstate and beyond.

Why the Triumph can win on Saturday:

1. The Triumph have never lost in Toyota Stadium

In fact, the Triumph are the only team in League One to go into Frisco and walk away with three points. That match was quite a turning point for the Triumph as it launched their late-season surge towards the postseason. These two teams have played three times this season, and if history is any indication, this will be anyone’s match.

The teams first met in Greenville all the way back on May 4. North Texas was able to walk away with a win thanks to a bad giveaway at the back that led to a crazy chip in off of the crossbar. That match was pretty balanced statistically with a slight edge going to Greenville’s defense on the stat sheet.

The second meeting went down in Texas on July 7. While North Texas produced more chances offensively in the match, it was once again Greenville’s defense coming to the rescue as the two teams split the points in a 0–0 draw.

The third and final meeting of the regular season came again at Toyota Stadium on July 26. After a fairly balanced first stretch, a red card was issued to North Texas’s Edwin Cerrillo in the 20th minute. The one-man advantage allowed Greenville enough space to create three goals from the run of play and earn a late-match penalty to win 4–0 on the road.

2. Defense wins championships!

There is little argument that North Texas has the most potent attack in USL League One. They finished the season with Golden Boot recipient Ronaldo Damus scoring 16 goals. They also boast the league assist leader in Arturo Rodriguez who, in addition to his 10 assists, also had a league-leading 76 chances created.

Unfortunately for North Texas, they will be without the services of offensive juggernaut Ricardo Pepi, who scored both goals in the team’s 2–0 semifinal win over Forward Madison.

Greenville, on the other hand, brings the league’s best defense into the championship match. Dallas Jaye notched 14 clean sheets on the season and his .78 goals against average earned him the Golden Glove award. Jaye was helped by a strong veteran backline that allowed a league-low 22 goals over the course of the year.

3. Teamwork makes the dream work

North Texas has a roster of 35 players. Greenville has only 23 and two of those are academy signings announced near the end of the season. On one hand, the smaller roster has been a liability at times, as injuries have sidelined players for the Triumph. However, the consistency of the roster and minimal rotation of the starting eleven has created a chemistry that helped Greenville get to the championship match.

The team came into the season with a handful of veteran players that had played together under Coach John Harkes at FC Cincinnati. That core helped establish a culture and attitude of winning at the club. The players clearly have great relationships with their coach and one another and that shows on the field. The big question heading into Saturday is whether their experience chemistry can outmatch the youthful exuberance of the North Texas side.

Why you should care about this match:

1. Men’s professional soccer teams in the Carolinas have not been here in awhile.

You most likely are aware of how amazing the North Carolina Courage are. They have won the NWSL Shield the last three seasons as the best regular-season team in the league. Last year, they won the International Champions Cup AND the NWSL Championship. They are pretty much untouchable in the world of Carolina soccer at the moment.

But on the men’s side of the Carolina soccer-sphere, things have not been quite so fortunate of late. Yes, the PDL’s Charlotte Eagles won a championship in 2017, but the last time a professional team won a championship was all the way back in 2012 when the Charleston Battery defeated fellow Carolina team Wilmington Hammerheads in the USL Championship.

The last time a professional team even played in the championship game was one year later when the Charlotte Eagles finished as runner-up in USL. That same year, the Carolina Railhawks were regular season champions in NASL. That was the last time we had that honor here in our little slice of the world.

Greenville has already made the USL League One championship, but on Saturday, they could bring championship vibes back to the men’s game here in #OneCarolina!

2. No one likes MLS 2/B teams

You don’t.

I don’t.

No one does.

Just look at the attendance numbers. And common sense. No one likes FC Dallas B.

3. Greenville playing in, and especially winning, this game would have a wide impact on soccer in the Carolinas.

Winning this game would be huge for the Triumph. It would likely open the door for more fan support, sponsorships, and even present opportunities for stadium investment. But Greenville’s success could, and likely would to some extent, have an impact on soccer across the Carolinas.

Having a stable and championship-caliber USL League One team in the area makes the area more attractive for expansion. Places like High Point, Wilmington, Asheville, and Columbia have all been mentioned in conversations about League One expansion.

Thriving division three professional soccer could also, possibly, raise the level of division two professional soccer in the Carolinas as players see the area as a soccer destination. It could even help make the case for a Carolina-based division one team. I’m looking at you Mr. Tepper!

4. Perhaps, maybe, you have some affinity for me.

Maybe you know me from my presence in the Greenville soccer scene. Maybe you know me from the SNST Slack. Maybe you are reading this today and it is the first time you have ever seen my name at the top of an article.

However you have come across my work, hopefully you have developed some sense of affinity for me.

Well, put all of those positive vibes on the Triumph this weekend for me.

TODAY IS MY BIRTHDAY.

I need this.

(Photo Credit: Brittany Hildreth)

When I signed a petition back in 2017 to bring USL D3 to Greenville, I never imagined we might actually be at this point in our first season. I, like countless others, have invested time, money, and plenty of emotional capital in this team this year. And while the addition of a #tinyhuman to my life has made covering this team the way I wish I could harder than I thought it might be, I have still been there every step of the way cheering, filming, and falling in love with this team.

Being a fan of this team has introduced me to so many amazing people that I would otherwise not have had the privilege to met. Greenville Triumph SC has been good for my soul.

At one of the last home games of the season, I was finally able to convince my wife to bring our baby and come to a match for the first time this year. As we were heading to our seats, we were stopped on the sidewalk to let the teams enter the field for warm-ups. As we stood there and the Triumph made their way to the field, John Harkes noticed me standing there.

I have had the opportunity to chat with Coach Harkes a number of times throughout the year, especially for my Yeah That Soccer Show podcast. I am always at the post-game press conference asking what I feel like are hard-hitting questions. So it was no surprise to me that he would wave at me as I stood there. But then something so simple, but so incredibly cool, happened.

Coach Harkes walked over and introduced himself to my wife and met my daughter. He didn’t need to do that. He did it because, I believe, he has fully embraced this community. John Harkes, a soccer legend in his own right, took a quick moment to connect with my family. It still blows my mind. That moment was so special to me and I will treasure it for a long time.

So, yeah. This team means a lot to me. This community means a lot to me. I am grateful to everyone on the Triumph staff for their tireless work this season. I am grateful to the Erwin family for making this team a possibility. I am grateful to Coach Harkes for the team of strong-character guys he has assembled. I am grateful for each and every player who took a chance on a new team in a new league and came to my city. I am grateful for my Reedy River Riot family who has given me so many memories this season.

And now I will make a small sacrifice to travel and support a team that has given me so much this year.

And if that makes me a “lunatic,” then bring on the crazy! Let’s go win a championship.

--

--