The end of a chapter, and looking forward to the next

From all of us at Soccer ‘n’ Sweet Tea, thank you.

Johnny Wakefield
Soccer 'n' Sweet Tea
5 min readMar 4, 2020

--

(Photo: Charlotte Eagles, 2015)

Hey everyone. Johnny Wakefield here.

For the last three years, I’ve run this small, “locally-brewed” soccer website called Soccer ‘n’ Sweet Tea. We started in March 2017 with a handful of guys (me, Zach Hall, Johnathan Ace, and Jason Santiago) covering the three Carolina USL teams, and by the end of May, we had over a dozen contributors. That group grew to over 30 writers, photographers, and podcasters scattered across our two states.

We edited and wrote hundreds and hundreds of articles covering 18 teams in six different leagues over the years, helped launch five different podcasts, and then last year pivoted to a twice-weekly newsletter with all the news stories we could handle, including weekly scores, standings, and links. We built a following in the thousands on social media. And the Carolina Soccer Family Slack is still buzzing and going strong, with thousands of messages each week from a lovely group of people who basically live there with us.

When I launched the thing, I never imagined it’d grow into what it has become. My wife and I had just bought a house in Charlotte. We had one daughter, Lily, who was about to go to preschool… and I had plenty of time on my hands.

That part, well, that has changed dramatically — and for the better! In mid-2018, Abbey and I had our second daughter, Nora, and this last offseason, we had our third daughter, Janie. (So many of you lived through a horrendous January with the five of us. Thank you so much.)

But life here is nuts.

I’m swimming in diapers and feedings and tantrums.

And I wouldn’t change a thing.

That said, it’s hard to swim in diapers and feedings and tantrums with multiple babies and continue covering lower-division soccer across the Carolinas to the standard we’ve built. And so, like Crown Town Soccer realized in 2016, the time has come for us to finish this chapter in Carolina soccer coverage.

We won’t have regularly scheduled SNST articles, Instagram stories, weekly newsletters, or podcasts (or even attempts at them) this year.

The Carolina Soccer Family Slack will live on… if you want an invite to that, just let us know. The SNST Twitter might occasionally come to life too when I get the urge; it’s not like I’ll stop watching and attending games or something.

And we might even bring SNST back when those of us who love it so much can find time again.

But for now, we’re done. And the 2020 USL season starts this weekend! North Carolina FC hosts Louisville City at 2:30 p.m. this Saturday… the Charleston Battery travel to face Atl*nta United II at 3:30 Sunday afternoon… and the Charlotte Independence travel to play Sporting KC II at 5 p.m. Sunday night.

And NISA already started! Stumptown Athletic hosted 1904 FC last Saturday and travels to face LA Force this Saturday at 10:30 p.m. Eastern.

USL L1 starts at the end of March. Go Triumph.

NWSL starts mid-April. Go Courage.

And USL L2 starts in May. Go… everyone.

There’s just so much good, lower-division soccer in the Carolinas. I hope that someone new comes along that loves it all as much as we do (and has the time to cover it all well). If you want to create something new, let me know and I’ll do everything I can to support it. I suspect someone from our Slack might have plans to do just that… or someone new entirely… whoever! The audience is here, and fans are waiting for good coverage. I’m hopeful.

I’ll still be working (when I can find time) to help organize the Mint City Collective, Charlotte’s new MLS supporters group, so I’m not exactly going anywhere either. You can find me on Twitter at @johnnywakefield if you ever want to talk about Carolina soccer, diapers, or bicycles. I’ll be around.

Finally, a few big shoutouts to end this thing for now.

To OrthoCarolina: Thank you for all your support. We couldn’t have pulled this off without you. Eager to see your name all over town for the rest of my life and remember your part in all of this every time.

To Zach Hall: Thanks for the encouragement to start it all off. We both know the hellscape that is soccer Twitter well, and you still helped make all the good stuff happen anyway. Takes a brave (and kind) soul.

To Corey Inscoe: Bro. Wouldn’t have made it through 2018 without you, let alone 2019. Your skills with the edits and newsletters taught me a ton, and your friendship got me through many a podcast and Independence game. Long may that continue.

To Chris Ashley and Brittany Hildreth: Also would never have made this far without the love you two showed SNST and me in particular. If I could buy two houses on my street and move your families here, I’d do it in a heartbeat. Maybe someday.

To Chris Davis, Ben Goshorn, and Alex Warren: I’ve never forgotten the 2018 SNST breakfast at Big Ben’s. You three helped shape SNST more than you know, and I hope to spend more soccer games by your sides in the near future.

To the Oak City Supporters: You’re the best. Seriously, the best in the Carolinas. I miss you. I’ll see you soon. Please don’t hurt me.

To the internet trolls: Now will you leave me alone? No, probably not.

To the Carolina Soccer Fam Slack: You’re the absolute worst. I love all of you. Too many names to list here, so I won’t try to give individual shoutouts and end up hurting feelings, but you know who you are. From DMs and #soccerwarz to geography quizzes and the FIFA SNST Premier League… you made our last three years as amazing as they’ve been. Eager to share this news with you and see where we all take it.

Alright y’all, that’s it. Farewell for now.

Enjoy the 2020 season, and we’ll see you in the stands.

-Johnny

--

--