The N.C. Derby represents a new definition of must-win for North Carolina FC

An NCFC supporter takes a very biased look ahead to this weekend’s N.C. Derby against the Charlotte Independence.

Zach H. Hicks
Soccer 'n' Sweet Tea
4 min readApr 12, 2018

--

Is there something bigger than a must-win game? Because that is what this feels like. (Photo Credit: Gloria Korlou)

Generally speaking, I try to be minimally partisan in this space because I really do appreciate the Charlotte writers here at Soccer ‘n’ Sweet Tea. They are good folks working to build soccer culture here in the Carolinas. To that end, I want the Charlotte Independence to develop a strong fan following and do better than their current 26th place in USL attendance.

That being said, I’m gonna take off my impartial hat here for just a few minutes and speak freely ahead of Saturday’s N.C. Derby match between North Carolina FC and Charlotte. Independence supporters, you might want to look away now. You’ve been warned.

I hope the Charlotte Independence lose every match by three goals and that they lose on Saturday by six — no, 12. Yeah, 12 is good.

A very, very tiny corner of the internet has been on fire with N.C. Derby banter this week, and it has taken an already must-win game for North Carolina FC (they have yet to register a point in three matches) and turned it into a guys, if you don’t win I really don’t know that I can go on the internet anymore situation.

Here’s the thing: In some ways, NCFC’s results so far this year have been unjust given their play. We really have a wonderful midfield that has allowed us to see the majority of possession over the course of three games, we have won most of our aerial duels this season, and in Daniel Rios, I think we’ve found a striker. Our back line has raised some questions, but Alex Tambakis has been solid in goal and eventually getting Turbo (Connor Tobin, for the Charlotte fans still reading) back should sort out some of the organizational issues we’ve had in the back.

I think we are a solid team, but at some point being decent on the pitch has to turn into results. If it doesn’t — and I mean soon — I’ll personally lead the #ClarkeOut charge on social media.

The good news for this weekend is that we are going to Matthews, and given the fan support for the Independence it might as well be a home game for us. (I told you to quit reading, Charlotte fans. This is your fault if you are mad now.) I hope we will be able to turn that into a win.

Tactically, expect NCFC to control the ball, expect Rios to drop into possession a little more than he probably should, and expect someone other than Kyle Bekker to take any penalties we may draw. Also expect terrible officiating, because honestly that seems to be all the USL is capable of. I’ve watched several non-NCFC USL games this year and the officiating is just as bad in all of them.

OK, time for a little bulletin board material: Here are some tweets I’ve seen about the derby from both sides this week.

From the official account — that was pretty cold.

Give this guy some love. He drives to Cary for games because he can’t be bothered to go see Independence matches. Great Dead Whale right there.

I love OCS.

Who is Charlotte and why is she trying to gain independence from Matthew? That’s the real question, Goose. THAT’S THE REAL QUESTION.

OK, one more, and it isn’t from Twitter, but it’s the funniest piece of banter I’ve seen related to this game:

This is from the Jack’s Militia website and, I gotta say, for a very small group that represents all the people in the greater Matthews area who care about soccer, that’s pretty brilliant.

Prediction:

NCFC wins 4-0.

Don’t like it? Write your own blog. I told you we aren’t being impartial today.

(Jokes aside, I LOVE that North Carolina has a decent derby, and Charlotte fans should, too. Thanks to fans of both NCFC and Charlotte for making the sport in this state great!)

COME ON YOU DEAD WHALES!

--

--

Zach H. Hicks
Soccer 'n' Sweet Tea

Covering NCFC, NC Courage, and speaking up for rural footy fans across the Carolinas.