A Happier Healthier Reality

Healthy change for the better!

Laura Annabelle
Social Change Agents
6 min readApr 7, 2017

--

We all want to live a better life especially when hard, tough, challenging times arise. But we have to let it make us stronger. We have to let it in order for change to happen to us and our lives.

And we have to allow the things that we will have to put ourselves through in order to earn the results we want at the end of the tunnel. See that light at the end? If you want to reach it, you must work harder and do all you can in order to earn that light.

At the root of this dilemma is the way we view mental health in this country. Whether an illness affects your heart, your leg or your brain, it’s still an illness, and there should be no distinction. – Michelle Obama

Healing from anything painful and traumatic in reality, it takes a lot of time, patience, commitment, strength and the courage to put ourselves back out there once we feel ready no matter how scared we may feel.

Sometimes we have to push ourselves to help us do something with courage to start living life after enough time in recovery/healing mode from a painful traumatic moment in your past life.

And believe me, it’s a good thing!

I am safe; it’s only change.

We all have a dream of our own of living our dream life with our husband, a family in our dream house pursing our dream career. And anything else that fits in your own dream reality.

And these are normal fantasies to have. But we can’t beat ourselves up if and when people tell us they are fantasy yet they won’t become a reality because they believe it’s not meant to be. Well don’t listen to them, listen to your heart instead!

Assuming, fixating and dwelling may be part of human nature but it shouldn’t become a habit.

We may want to assume because we think with whatever mindset we have (to all those parents out there) is the only way is to only look back and dwell on the past. When really it’s learning from the past enough to only look back occasionally. Letting go and then looking forward so that you don’t miss anything that’s right in front of you.

But in order to do that, we must open our eyes a little more and our minds wide open.

Like this song from Bridge To Terribithia!

If we want things to change whether its for someone else or anyone at all, you must accept, respect and understand what you have to do. And that is doing some work on yourself too if you want a relationship with someone to become stronger and healthier.

We must understand that if we want someone to change, a few things need to be promised and improved. And those are:

  • Changing your perspective by being open to walking in someone else’s shoes or being open to fully hearing what someone has to say. Listen and ask: listen fully without any judgements which is hard for many people and ask questions to clarify you are understanding and hearing their words as we should be (mindfulness)
  • Accepting, respecting and understanding that there are two sides to every story. Sometimes three: yours, theirs and the truth. We can’t just view it from our perspective. If we are talking about any issue at home or anywhere, consider hearing someone else’s side of the story. To hear what it feels like for them, how it affects and impacts them in their life and what they want you to improve on with solving the issue

You may want to stick with your own story but you shouldn’t. You may want to do something, but that doesn’t mean you should.

It Takes Two

I face my demons, yeah, I paid my dues. I had to grow up, I wish you could too. I wanted to save you, but I can only save myself. Oh, I can only be the change you want to see. Yeah, to see.

It takes two, two sides to every story. Not just you. I can’t keep ignoring. I admit half of it, I’m not that innocent, oh yeah.

It takes two, two sides to every story. Not just me. You can’t keep ignoring. But let me be first baby to say I’m sorry (I’m sorry).

I point my finger but it does me no good. I look in the mirror and it tells me the truth, yeah. Why all these lessons always learned the hard way. Is it too late to change?

When it comes to inner self change, we must accept that it can only come from ourself. Yeah people are allowed to inspire us but they should accept that they can’t demand or force the kind of change they want for someone else. Because change doesn’t work that way.

If you start demanding or forcing change in any way for anyone, you’re making a mistake that you will receive your own consequences in which you don’t have a choice what that is. The only choice you get is whether you get that consequence or not. If you don’t, don’t demand or force anyone to do anything if they don’t want to.

You can inspire them all you want but two things need to link together, which are:

  1. Making sure you set the example of what you are inspiring: be the change you wish to see in the world – Mahatma Gandhi
  2. Accept and respect that even after inspiring change for someone else, you must understand that they are the one to choose what they follow. And they will only consider something as long as that person sets the example. Because if you don’t set the example, don’t expect anyone to follow it if you don’t yourself.

I express confidence in my body because I know children learn from example, not words, and they watch everything. – Emme Stoynoff

When it comes to self worth, we will find in our lives people even those we are close with will take away our self worth even without caring or making an necessary changes themselves.

And that’s one thing to learn about reality: its not easy nor fair a lot of the times in which we will not like and we will have to suck it up and continue doing what we believe we deserve for ourselves in our own life. We want healthier, positive change in our life??

We must let ourselves view it as our own possibility and opportunity to make the necessary changes ourselves regardless of how much we believe we should do what we believe we can to inspire those close to us to stop taking away our self worth because its not worth it nor do we deserve it.

But we have to keep in mind and catch ourselves that we can only inspire change in ourselves and others. We can’t demand or force anyone to do anything. Just like how they can’t force or demand us to do things that we truly don’t want to do or be as a human being.

I claim high self-worth and self-esteem for myself. I love and appreciate myself on every level. I am not my parents, nor any addictive pattern they may have had. No matter what my past may have been, now in this moment I choose to eliminate all negative self-talk and to love and approve of myself. I am my own unique self and I rejoice in who I m. I am acceptable, lovable, and divinely inspired. – Young G, Happier

It’s time to make the world a better place… Let’s use our magical powers to form our world in a better one and change society by changing ourselves first. Setting the example for others as well as inspiring it.

Be the change you wish to see in the world. – Mahatma Gandhi

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Social Change Agents

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.