Choosing To Not Let Fear Take Over

Laura Annabelle
Social Change Agents
2 min readJan 22, 2018

--

Fear is something that we all have experienced and have had our fair share of moments. Whether we chose to let fear take over and have power over us ask our lives, and then there those of us who eventually became the ones who choose to not let fear have power over us and our lives and make a life of our own, and also not let society dictate how we live our lives and who society wants us to be.

Fear can really take over your life and make it something ugly and not worth living, bringing demons into the picture. And at some point, it can be almost impossible to regain back control over your life and make it a life of your own. And though as hard as this may be, it’s never impossible. Simply un-possible from what the Cheshire Cat in “Alice Through The Looking Glass”.

There’s something I wanna share here relating to the topic of fear. After watching this music video sing by Nickelback showing scenes from the tv series: Super Girl; it came to me and convinced me to start watching the series. So I’ve found myself watching the first episode (season 1) and it has come 16 minutes into the episode, where it gets me thinking with what is going on at this point:

“So what if she exposed herself and her identity to the world, she wanted to do more than the normal as she speaks:”

“I’ve always felt the need to help people and tonight I finally got that chance. I didn’t travel two light years just to be an assistant.”

(Everyone knows and you can’t take that back)

And you know what? I can relate to this on a fair yet relatable level. I may not have superpowers like super girl has, but I do have more power than any human being or citizen of our society could ever imagine or believe that someone like me could impact on our society. I have a lot planned and even some events that I haven’t yet imagined yet for 2018! And I know I’m not only gonna surprise society, but myself included as well!

Yeah it may be hard to understand how it can be a good thing to talk about mental health and mental illness yet also be known for having a mental illness; but truth speaks from my own heart, soul and mind; that nothing is impossible! I feel more confidence inside just after watching the first episode of “SuperGirl” and I can’t wait to see what I set my mind to!

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Social Change Agents

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.