I Did Something Bad

Why Does It Feel So Good?

Laura Annabelle
Social Change Agents
2 min readJun 15, 2019

--

Well hello! I’d like to talk to about something I’ve been meaning to talk about. For as long as I’ve been working at Walmart (2 years but have quit as of June 8, 2019), I’ve found that the rules and dress code and environment there made me sacrifice my true self and everything about my dreams, beliefs, and everything else; for the rules Walmart enforces!

It felt so agonizing to me how I had to put Walmart’s needs and rules above my own life and my health. I’ve also found that the rules and environment there made me put my health more and more at risk. And that hurt me and my health a lot.

The management at Walmart were too focused on having all their associates following the rules and dress code perfectly. Screw the dress code and the rules; I’m gonna live my life my way! And yes one of many reasons why I ended my employment was because of how much it was affecting my health negatively and telling me how to live my life!

It was just about my time to end it on good terms and spend my time off to focus more of my energy, attention and time on improving my health; along with three things:

  • Get a full time job or two part time jobs
  • Pass drivers test
  • Find housing with roommates & move out

As well my circumstances at home too aren’t the greatest for my health either and I need a change in all three and also more of a social life and definitely a love life!

Sometimes people who appear to be strong and confident are actually masking deeper fears.

To be honest, I don’t feel guilty about my decision for ending my employment with Walmart not one bit! This is my life and I’m gonna start or rather day; get back to living it on my own terms!

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Social Change Agents

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.