Leave Your Fears Behind!

Laura Annabelle
Social Change Agents
2 min readJul 12, 2016

--

I’ve started a few years ago when me and my friends started getting the seasons pass for Canada’s Wonderland and one summer day, my best friend Courtney mentioned about me facing my fear of roller coasters preferably like the Behemoth & Leviathan. And so that same day, Courtney and the rest of my friends convinced me to go on and they made sure that I stayed in line when I wanted to back out.

It was finally time, we had started moving up the hill and when we reached the top, I thought “here it comes” preparing myself for the downward part of that 4 second hill, that only had scared me up till that day. After going down the hill, I really felt amazing, I started smiling and possibly screaming too describing how I felt at that point on the ride.

At the end, when we got off the ride, Courtney and the others asked me how I liked it. I said I loved it and then wanted to go on Nightmares. But before we did, I called my mom telling her about what I had just accomplished. And I was honestly freaking out and amazed at that fact. I did it, I went on Leviathan. I couldn’t believe it for a little while then got used to me being comfortable and couragious/brave with going on roller coasters like that; that I wouldn’t normally go on before that day.

After conquering my first fear, it gave me the idea of conquering the rest of my fears. There were three that were on that list:

  • Roller coasters – ✔️
  • Haunted Houses
  • Scary Movie 3

And so I did when the time came around to conquer them!

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Social Change Agents

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.