We Day California

Critics… – Selena Gomez

Laura Annabelle
Social Change Agents
2 min readJul 18, 2016

--

The most important thing is to always trust in myself. If I have…if I’m doing something because I love it, I should do it because I love it and I believe that I can do it. So she told me to keep going. She taught and told me to turn the other cheek and let the credits, the critics be critics and let us just trust ourselves.

I’m surrounded by people who are supposed to guide me and some of them and others haven’t. They pressure me. There’s so much pressure: you gotta be sexy, you gotta be cute, you gotta be nice, you gotta be all these things. And I’m sure you all can relate. You all have pressure that you have to deal with everyday. I’m sure with school, with work, with friends, with parents, with family. But parents I know sometimes mine. They tell me what to wear, how to look, what I should say, how I should be. Until recently I had given into that pressure. I lost side of who I was. I listened to opinions of people and I tried to change who I am because I thought that others would accept me for it. And I realized I don’t know how to be anything but myself. And all I really want you to know is that you are changing the world. I’m not changing the world. You are changing the world and that’s amazing! Please just be kind to each other and love and inspire people because let’s do it. Let’s do it. Let’s change the game. The most important is that we learn and we continue to learn from each other. Please stay true to yourself. Please just remain who you are. And know that we have each other’s back all of us have each other’s back.

I’d be lying if I never tried to make myself better by giving in because I have. But I’ve learned from my actions and for all the things I’ve done, I’m proudest of that. I’ve learned from my mistakes. I want you to know what it’s like, that I know what it’s like. Figuring out what type of friends you have. You are who you surround yourself with. So I just want to say that I hope I inspire each and every one of you to just trust yourselves and to love and to be loved.

“People tell you the world looks a certain way. Parents tell you how to think. Schools tell you how to think. TV. Religion. And then at a certain point, if you’re lucky, you realize you can make up your own mind. Nobody sets the rules but you. You can design your own life.” – Carrie-Anne Moss

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Social Change Agents

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.