A reflection on systems thinking and design

于佰田
Social Design Fundamentals
2 min readSep 28, 2018

--

This class has made me feel a combination of practice and professionalism, and although in a sense I don’t think the part of the activity is very touching to me, I think it’s really necessary for people who are beginning to engage in systematic thinking.

I think system thinking is a very important tool, in the course system provided by SVA DSI, this course is indeed an essential part. I do agree with the idea of “we are the system” and the extended activity of “reflecting on the construction of our own systems,” but I also think it is necessary to distinguish between what makes the classroom more efficient and what drags it down. For me, I prefer longer classes with a slightly slower pace, because as an international student I still need to look up information in real time to better understand the lesson.

At the same time, I think systematic thinking needs careful logical thinking besides subjective understanding. Therefore, the view of the system depicted in the reading material seems to me to be absorbed in deconstruction. There are many situations in which ideas from different dimensions, heights, and domains are mixed and narrated side by side. I think we should be aware that the systematic view is not a scattered, disordered system of experience, but a result of the Anglo-American philosophy of technology based on empiricism and utilitarianism. As a designer, I think it is necessary to have a correct view of the system.

--

--