My Portable Cosy Place

Ellie Jackson
Social Jogi
Published in
6 min readJan 17, 2021

--

a place to relax, feel, be.

Photo by Timo Stern on Unsplash

It may sound cliché.

It may seem like teenage romanticism.

But there is no truer truth than this;

My boyfriend is my cosy place.

We’ve been together a long while now, and during that time I’ve had any cosy places I’ve cherished taken away from me.

The Bathroom

By Naomi August on Unsplash

First, was the bathroom at my mum’s house.

It seems like a strange place for an oasis.

My bedroom wasn’t somewhere I could relax, I shared it with my younger sister. So when I needed somewhere to cry, to calm down, to look at myself in the mirror and pep-talk myself into going back into reality again, I ended up in the bathroom.

The doorway was like an opening into a quiet and peaceful dimension.

Nothing goes on in the bathroom. For the time you are in there, it is completely your space. It’s as if time just… stops.

My mum and I didn’t have the best of relationships; there were a lot of times where I needed to be alone, to think, to wash off my…

--

--

Ellie Jackson
Social Jogi

A wandering mind, looking for somewhere to put all these thoughts down, except from inside my head — it’s a little too full.