The Circles of Life

Ash C
Social Jogi
Published in
2 min readJun 2, 2021

The sky was laden with gorgeous grey clouds today. It is only June 2, and we have already had light showers for the past three days. But other than that, the days still seem just the same — wake up, down a cup of coffee, think of your to-do list, make sure you do not have to do anything else before you get sucked up in the wormhole of your deadlines, assignments, and submissions. Pretty uneventful.

Sometimes I wish I had something dramatic going on, just so I could write about it.

Photo by Sneaky Head on Unsplash

But even if I had stuff going on, would I really write about it? The answer is a ‘maybe’.

I am a very private person. I’m not sure how that happened, but since childhood, I’ve been very averse to sharing my personal details with others, be it friends or family, or just anyone.

When I grew up a little, I learned that this is, apparently, basic etiquette. First comes your personal life, which consists of things you do not share with anyone else. Everyone desires personal privacy. Period.

For me, that would include my dreams and ambitions.

The second is your confidential life. In this, only you and your friends and family would know of certain things that no one else would know of.

The third is your official life. You do not bring the office home and you do not take your personal stuff to the office. Clear demarcations have to be made and necessary barriers to be set up (WFH sort of negates that though).

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

And last, comes your public life. Here, it is okay to share everything with everyone. At least, that is my basic understanding of it.

There is a balance between all these circles. And I have been leaning on personal privacy for long enough that it is time to come out of my shell.

Most of us underestimate our importance, nevertheless, each person has their own process. Some will be good, and some bad, but it is a process.

The rain has stopped. There is pin-drop silence, except for a few cars going by. The cool air is like an oasis in this sweltering heat. The night is beautiful. And however normal it may be, so also, is life.

--

--