Share your perspective on social journalism — for research

Julia Haslanger
Social Journalism 101
1 min readNov 30, 2015

You work in a newsroom, yes? And you’re interested in all the new ways journalists and their audiences are interacting, yes? You’ve even tried some engagement techniques for yourself, or maybe just watched in admiration as others experiment. You are who I’m looking for.

I’m doing research for The Kettering Foundation (and as part of my graduate school work for CUNY) about what exactly “social journalism” is, who’s practicing it, and what’s working to engage audiences around issues of importance. I’ve spent a few months doing one-on-one interviews with dozens of awesome journalists, and now I’d like to hear from even more of you. So, here’s a link to my survey. It should take about 10 minutes.

Many thanks to those of you who do take the survey or share it. 🙏

--

--

Julia Haslanger
Social Journalism 101

Journalism nerd exploring audience engagement, analytics and newsrooms. My path so far: WI ▹ Mizzou ▹ CO ▹ DC ▹ NYC ▹ Chicago. Engagement consultant at Hearken.