How Do I interact with Social Media for News?

Anisa Selenica
Social Media as News COD
3 min readSep 23, 2018

It’s very common to think that the things you share on social media may not be considered important to others but it is. Whether it be an article or credible source about a favorite movie, musician, politician, your scientific beliefs or events happening near your hometown it not only peak the interests of your friends to click on the article but it shares something about yourself.

As a student majoring in Television Production and that most of my experience comes from working for the school news and it may come to a surprise that I don’t really pay attention to the news. Now, that’s not entirely true because I do read up on local news articles from the Chicago Tribune, the Daily Herald, My Suburban Life, and the Riverside Brookfield Landmark. I’m fully well aware on what goes on in my hometown. I read many of these articles on Facebook as i’m scrolling through my news feed. The reflection of my news intake on social media has made me think about the changes and old habitats I may need to reconnect myself with so I can pay more attention to the news outside of my local comfort zone.

As I continue to think about old habits, about a year ago, I followed CNN, NBC, ABC 7 news pages on Facebook in which is where I got most of my news. The trending topics section is where my eyes were glued to the screen and unfortunately after seeing all the depressing news and the ignorance of what my family would post. I stopped paying attention and I definitely lost hope in our country.

Since my habits have changed, I will seek the local news in the afternoon from the Daily Herald and Chicago Tribune. As for more national and international news I may check Facebook or Twitter’s trending topics to see what is going on in the world. I don’t share much content on my Facebook or Twitter but I do like or react to posts that come across my news feed. That’s where I feel connected with the social media news world. The news I typically share via social media have to be of my entertainment interests but only rarely. I’m seeking those articles at night when i’m getting ready for bed.

When it comes to interacting with people either in person or through text, I’ll run by the stories I find online or on Facebook to my teacher and my tutor to see if they will approve it for the school news and if they do, I’ll dig a little deeper to each story. I’ll start Googling, going on Facebook and Twitter. My boyfriend is very active on posting factual political articles on Facebook and once in a while he’ll sent me articles while we are texting. Most times I don’t understand what I read because of my poorly paid attention to the national news. However, I ask him questions and he’ll break down the story for me. I am grateful to have someone who can explain and share articles with me since most of my friends don’t really pay attention either and they never want to talk about what goes on in the news. I do get upset with myself for not paying a great amount of attention to what happens in our country or around the world since we have the social platforms right in our hands. The amount of news I receive is definitely not enough for my needs and I always feel the need to know more.

--

--