How to Maintain Your Natural Hair!!

Amber Farmby
Social Media as News COD
3 min readMay 16, 2017

Natural hair can be a challenge to take care of but, with the right products and the learning how to take care of it can work in your favor. It took a while for me to learn what works for my hair and I still have some learning to do. Now I am going too express the things that I have learned on my natural hair journey.

I have been natural for about 5 years and it changed my perspective on how to express being beautiful. Since I was so used to straightening and relaxing my hair I damaged my hair so badly to the point where I had to cut a lot of my hair off. Over the years I have tried so many products on my hair and it was pretty much trial and error. Through all of that I started to realize what I can use and what i could not and I also created a regimen.

Eating healthy can play a big part on hair growth. A few foods that could be included in your diet are avocados, nuts, salmon, eggs and foods items that are filled with vitamins.

Maintain Your Hair!!

There are many things that you can do to protect your natural hair and one of those things is protective styling. Natural hair can be styled in many ways and those are corn rolls aka braids, twists, Bantu knots and scarfs. The reasons why it’s called protective styling is because, when natural hair is not worn in its natural state you can put your hair in nice styles that will look good and be beneficial to your hair. I know everyone has bad hair days and times when they do not feel like doing there hair. But that's okay because, these styles can give you a different look and they don’t take so much time.

This is a tutorial on how i take care of my natural hair!!

Express yourself through your natural hair

Using a Twists Sponge can help with styling process of tour hair !

For men and women when you are on the go sometimes you do not have the time to style your hair and using a twist brush can save you so much time.

Trimming your ends is very important to hair growth. I know it sounds crazy but it results in fuller healthier ends.

The washing process can be a pain to do but if you just put in that time it will be beneficial to your hair. The first step to this process is finger De-tangling , making sure that all of your hair is evenly separated and there are no kinks. This is important because when you brush or comb your hair, you don't want to snag your hair because it will hurt.

Tools you can use to De-tangle your natural hair

It’s important to De-tangle your hair properly so that your hair does not snag, because it prevents breakage form your ends.

Natural hair is a lot to maintain but when you take that time to properly moisture your hair you will see differences and growth. Take that time to care about your trust me you will not regret it.

--

--