How To Be A Leader

A Q&A with leaders at OSM

Bethany Klanderman
Social Media For Business Owners
7 min readNov 21, 2018

--

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

Focus, accountability, confidence, optimism, and inspiration are a few words used to embody the qualities of a leader.

Here at Optimize Social Media, we pride ourselves on the leaders that we have in our office. Being such a rapidly growing and succeeding company in the Twin Cities area, our employees want our company to succeed, especially our leaders. Our leaders at OSM not only work extremely hard to achieve our company’s goals but help those around them succeed as well. I had the opportunity to interview a few of our leaders in the past few weeks and was able to understand their perspective of leadership and being in a leading role.

Leadership is something that takes hard work and years of experience. Being that I am just beginning my experiences here at OSM, to learn more about the role of being a leader, I asked the leads themselves. Listed below are 5 OSM leaders that answered various questions so that others can understand more about their positions and achieve success in their own roles.

Addie Dunker

Addie is a fun and energetic leader that is extremely hard working and passionate about her job. She has been at Optimize Social Media since 2016 and became an SMM Lead in 2017.

What are the values that drive you?

Faith, relationships, and helping others improve.

What’s your proudest moment as an SMM?

Making team lead so I can represent my own voice.

How did you achieve success as an SMM Team Lead?

My success in general with OSM started when I was first put on a team after training. Training is important and all, but I learned most of the tips, tricks and skills hands on, and working alongside a dedicated and motivated team.

What’s the most important achievement you hope to accomplish in your current role?

My goal is for all my clients to understand and value the efforts we put into their online presence and advertising campaigns.

In one word, describe your most significant challenge this week?

Repetition

Marisa Ryan

Marissa is a compassionate and dedicated leader who loves to motivate those around her to succeed. She has been working with OSM since February 2016, became SMM Lead in 2017, and recently titled supervisor in 2018.

What are the values that drive you?

I strive to perform my best throughout all aspects of my job, giving less than 100% is not an option. I also take pride in owning mistakes that I might make, just knowing that I will learn from them and they won’t be repeated.

What’s your proudest moment as an SMM?

My proudest moment as an SMM was when I was asked to head the NAPA Program. I was in charge of curating and delivering the content and then the team quickly grew from just me to the 14 SMMs we have working on it now in just 18 months. It’s been very cool to watch it grow knowing that I was the beginning of that project.

How did you achieve success as an SMM Lead?

I believe my success can be attributed the hard work and motivation to go above and beyond that I walked in the door with when I started. Being an SMM wasn’t always the dream, I wanted to be in the role I’m in now. Directly contributing to my team’s success is what I was always after. I put in the hard work on two separate account loads, developed a new Program that is a huge part of OSM, and always worked towards the job I wanted.

What’s the most important achievement you hope to accomplish in your current role?

I am working towards having the most successful SMM team within OSM while encouraging all other teams to achieve greatness as well. When we win, OSM wins, and that’s what I’m after!

What are 3 traits that every SMM should embody?

Accountability, Motivation, Communication

Nicole Mackenzie

Nicole is a hardworking and compassionate leader who is extremely passionate about her position. Nicole has been working with OSM since 2017 and recently accepted a Team Lead position in 2018.

What are the values that drive you?

The values that drive me are hard work, growth, and thankfulness.

What’s your proudest moment as an SMM?

My proudest moment at OSM was becoming a Team Lead. It was a goal I put in place for myself on my first week here and it was a very humbling and proud moment knowing that my hard work and determination had pulled off.

How did you achieve success as an SMM Lead?

Achieving success as an SMM Lead is something I’m still working on, but I’m working hard to obtain it through listening to and trusting my supervisors, continuing to learn, and setting goals for myself to achieve daily.

What’s the Most Important Achievement You Hope to Accomplish in Your Current Role?

What I hope to achieve in my current role of an SMM Lead is to better myself every day and help my team to the best of my ability, so they can succeed in their roles.

What are 3 traits that every SMM should embody?

3 traits that every SMM should embody would be to have trust, be open minded, and fail fast.

Alexis Stewart

Alexis is a successful leader that is supportive and determined to make a difference. She loves to push others to be the best they can be. Alexis has been working with OSM since November 2016 and became an SMM lead in 2018.

What are the values that drive you?

Values that drive me are adventure, determination, and accomplishment.

How did you achieve success as an SMM Lead?

I achieve success as a SMM Lead by making sure my team can depend on me. I want my team to know that they can come to me with any questions and I will find the answer for them. Giving them tools to be successful from what has worked for me has been greatly appreciated!

What’s the Most Important Achievement You Hope to Accomplish in Your Current Role?

The most important achievement I hope to accomplish in my current role is to be a good example. I want to make sure I can be looked up to by my peers.

In one word, describe your most significant challenge this week?

Changes

Sarah Bowler

Sarah is a committed and hardworking leader that is a strong role-model to those around her. She has been an employee with OSM since 2015 and has been a Senior Social Media Manager since 2017.

What are the values that drive you?

Trust, Accountability, and Effort

What’s your proudest moment as an SMM?

Anytime a client tells me they like what I do or appreciate what I do for them and their business

How did you achieve success as an SMM Lead?

By doing what I am told effectively and efficiently, being able to understand what is expected.

What’s the Most Important Achievement You Hope to Accomplish in Your Current Role?

Maintain my current portfolio

What are 3 traits that every SMM should embody?

Organization, Time-Management, and Attention to Detail

You can see through these interviews the commitment, and passion each one of these OSM employee’s have for their job and for the company. When selected as a leader, it is a huge honor and commitment that gives people the chance to learn and grow. Being an intern, this experience was extremely beneficial and inspirational to hear my co-workers speak proudly about their positions in this company. I hope that through these interviews you can see what quality's make up a leader at Optimize Social Media.

If you are looking for a position to grow and showcase your leadership, visit our website to see if you would be a good fit for our team.

Optimize Social Media provides social media & reputation solutions that evolve with our clients. As social media experts we manage Facebook, Twitter, Google, Yelp, YouTube and Instagram accounts for our clients on a daily basis. We help the modern business owner implement a specialized social media strategy so that they can make more money in real life. Enjoy our blog.

--

--