What About The Brand “YOU”?

ali mirza
Marketing Hacks
Published in
2 min readMay 4, 2016

To, all freelancers and consultants!

I know more clients = more money

And we love what we do but, we have to pay the bills. Right? So we signup as many clients as possible.

Then we spend most of our time on

  • Perfecting our client’s websites
  • Creating social media marketing campaigns
  • Implementing SEO
  • Creating Facebook Ads for our clients
  • Writing content for our client’s product launch page

This is all great but, we forget about our most important client i.e. “ourself”

When people ask us about our own brand or website, we typically laugh and say

Yes, we are working on it. :)

Why do we neglect our own brand?

I know what you are going to say. Ali, we are too busy and don’t have time to work on our website or write weekly blog articles.

It is hard but doable. Here are the steps I would recommend,

  1. Start sharing your story
  2. Create content in the form of videos or blogs
  3. Share your opinion on current industry news and events
  4. If you suck at writing (like myself), just write anyways
  5. If you suck more than I do, create micro-content on Instagram, Facebook or Twitter. Look at this example from “eclipse42” guy. I don’t need a logo right now but, I just want to hire him anyways.

You have helped clients in the past. Right? Create short case studies on that. (Actually, I am working on this at my own blog iSocialYou)

Whatever you do to pay the bills, DO NOT neglect the brand “YOU”

YOU are your most important client.

Whatever you do for your clients, do that for your own business on the weekends (ali)

In the long run, it will help your own business. More people would take you seriously and hopefully want to work with you.

What do you think? Agree?

Even if you disagree, I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

--

--

ali mirza
Marketing Hacks

Growth Marketer & Digital Entrepreneur. I also teach on Udemy and SkillShare. Get in touch > www.iSocialYou.com