4 Things You Can Do Today to Market Yourself on Social Media

Simple ways for writers to succeed on social media

Shelby Leigh
Social Media Success
5 min readNov 2, 2019

--

Photo by NordWood Themes on Unsplash

There are so many ways to market yourself on social media that it can start to get very overwhelming, very fast.

The most important thing I’ve learned is to start small. Success on social media doesn’t come in a day.

If you use social media to market yourself as a writer (of course you do!), here are 4 simple things you can do today to help your strategy.

Share your story

I have a hard time talking about myself. But I’m a writer, and I know it’s what I have to do so my readers can get to know me.

If you’re active on social media and you’re a writer, don’t just talk about your books, or post links to your latest article.

Share your story.

How you got started with writing. When you knew you wanted to be a writer. The struggles you’ve faced in your journey to being a writer. The rejections. The acceptances.

Pick one of these and post about it today on at least one social platform.

If you need some inspiration, here’s a recent Instagram post I shared telling my story.

--

--

Shelby Leigh
Social Media Success

Helping writers navigate social media marketing. Author of 3 poetry books. Instagram @shelbyleighpoetry. shelbyleigh.co/marketing