K is Not Okay and Other Conversation Killers

Andrew Burke
Social Media Sweethearts
2 min readSep 3, 2015

--

You’re chatting with your loved or lusted one and you just laid your heart and loins on the line when you get back the dreaded “k.” The fuck?

Are they even listening? Are they chatting with someone else? Seriously what the hell are they doing? This is a conversation not a soliloquy.

Well, maybe you’re both at fault. You for having the instant gratification and interaction satisfaction we’ve all been conditioned with. And them for being a multitasker. Not the traditional idea of a multitasker but what it has become to represent: doing a lot at once with the inability to do any of it well.

Technology has done a lot to connect us, but sometimes we let it create a disconnect. We’re too busy focusing elsewhere to focus on one another. We know this is not acceptable so we sometimes try to cover with conversation fillers, but they’re actually killers.

K
Translation:
1. I’m too busy else where to read your paragraph
2. I’m done with this conversation
3.. Whatever
4. FUCK OFF

Okay
Translation:
1. Right, got it.
2. Whatever you say
3. Go on, I’m listening kind of

O.K.
Translation:
1. SHUT UP I’m trying to watch these vines
2. WHATEVER

Okie Dokie
Translation:
1. Sure that’s great but I’m busy so yeah

Sounds good
Translation:
1. I’ve gotten everything i want or need out of this conversation.
2. Please stop messaging me. Please

mmm
Translation:
1. I agree but have nothing to contribute nor do I wish to hear anymore
2. I get it. Stop.

What other conversation killers have you encountered? Have you deciphered their meanings? Share your thoughts in the comments.

--

--