Ableism at NC State

Nathan Stein
Social Problems
Published in
Oct 12, 2022

When I came to NC State for orientation in June, me and my friend stayed in Lee hall on the 4th floor. The elevator could take you to floor 2/3, 4/5, 6/7, or 8/9. I noticed after the elevator ride up you needed to go up or down about 5 stairs to get to your designated floor. So even with the elevator which is claimed to make it easier for people with disabilities to access different floors, it clearly does not make it easier. I also remember when my sister was a freshman at State about 6 years ago, she lived in Tucker Hall and there were not any elevators in the 4 story building. It is necessary for buildings on campus to be accessible to everyone no matter their ability because we claim to be an inclusive university.

--

--