Cost of Higher Education

Jack Merritt
Social Problems
Published in
2 min readDec 8, 2022

Since we are all college students, we should be quite familiar with the tuition that we have to pay each semester. Back in my junior year of high school I took AP English Language and Composition and one of the assignments our teacher made us do was to create a podcast and discuss an academic topic. My friend and I ended up deciding to talk about the price of private versus public colleges, as this was a current topic of discussion as we began our college search. We ended up doing a good bit of research on this topic and I had realized a lot about the college process that I was going to have to face in the near future

I had known going in that private colleges were expensive, but I still remember being really surprised at the differences in price. For context, the average tuition for a private college in North Carolina is just over $35,000 per semester, while the average cost for a public college is just over $7000. Nationally, the price is $39,000 for private and almost $11,000 for public.

Now while obviously public colleges are noticeably cheaper, now that’s not to say that the prices are reasonable, because they aren’t in the slightest. The price for education should not be an unattainable price for people, as everyone should have access to education. Reports show that over 42 million people have student loan debt that they acquired due to the unnecessarily high tuition rates.

--

--