Education a business?

Rishi Jeswani
Social Problems
Published in
2 min readDec 8, 2022

College is something that is so important in any students life. My parents always use to tell me that college is going to make me a “man with a plan” for the rest of life. Little did he know that universities in the US are so expensive that it was going to make him buy a loan plan from different banks.

Universities in the United States are so expensive for International student. Most of my friends who came here to United states have spent another 5 years working to repay their student loans. The education system of America is so bad that (during the selection process) the only thing they care about is how much money can you pay. It seems only students with rich parents can dream about going to big universities. I scored good marks in all of my exams (SAT’s, AP’s etc. ), but could not make it to any IVY league colleges. One of my friend’s father sold his house to pay for tuition here, as they wanted their son to not end up like them struggling and live a better life. Sometimes I wish that I should have stayed in India. The tuition of any college in America is equal to the entire engineering course fee(including housing and food for four years) of any college in India. But again it is a developing country (did not really have a choice but to come here and work for the US).And this is how US is treating international students who are going to work for them(giving them good jobs but with a huge amount of loan to return). Some people who cannot deal with such pressure end up taking drugs and start smoking. Sometimes I feel so bad when I hear my roommate(an in-state student) talking about buying a boat after he graduates, then there is me without any security wondering if I would be able to buy a house here in United states someday or not?

I still remember teachers teaching us the difference between a liability and an asset, motivating us to study harder so that we can help our community and become an asset for the coming generation. It is crazy how the community, the country we are going to work for is not helping us in any way.

--

--