Healthcare in America

Grace Whittington
Social Problems
Published in
2 min readDec 8, 2022

Healthcare

Growing up I never realized how fortunate I was that having doctors’ appointments, dentist appointments, etc was normal for me. Sadly I was surrounded by people who had the same experience so I didn’t see how inaccessible healthcare can be for some people. If I’ve had any kind of illness or injury I never thought twice about having to get a doctor’s appointment because I’m fortunate enough that we have healthcare. It’s crazy that some people have to ignore or push through illnesses or pain they are having just because they can’t afford to see a doctor. It’s very interesting to learn about other countries' healthcare and see how different it is from ours. We are one of the few countries where healthcare is so inaccessible for people depending on their economic status. It’s weird how we pride ourselves on being such a free country yet so many people die in our country because they don’t have access to healthcare. I also can’t fathom how so many drug companies charge insane prices for drugs like insulin that people need to live. I see so many stories of how people have died due to their insurance not covering the drugs they need and they couldn’t afford to pay for it out of pocket. It’s sad that so many people refuse to agree that our healthcare system needs to change. We should not have people dying just because they don’t have hundreds of dollars to spend on doctor's appointments etc. We need to have more accessible healthcare so people don’t have to suffer due to something out of their control.

--

--