Heterosexism

Liberty Carroll
Social Problems
2 min readSep 2, 2022

--

Growing up in a very small southern town, most of our local people are stuck in their small-town little ways. Straight is the “norm” and gay is frowned upon. Although, I must say I’ve seen a lot of growth in the mindset of my hometown and this country. With an increase in people “coming out” and the increase in shared knowledge, our generations are becoming more accepting. I do think it’s sad that it is something that must be “accepted.” After going through the readings these past two weeks it has made me look at sexuality in a new light. The fact that it is “common sense” for people to be of a heterosexual orientation is fascinating. It is something most people have seen as the “right way” and “normal” going as far back as medieval times. Although, the terms “hetero/homosexual” weren’t invented until 1868, being “straight” has always been viewed as the “natural” way of life. A lot of people try using the fact that being “gay” is a sin, to be homophobic. They tend to do this without realizing they are contradicting themselves. In a religious context, according to the bible, all sin is equal, and no sin is greater than another. So, by being “homophobic” because being “gay” is a sin they are sinning as well. I have bear witness to this a lot where I am from. While I identify as straight, I do not condone heterosexism, people have a right to make their own decisions and be true to themselves. Everyone should be able to do this without facing discrimination and prejudice from others. With this, you may ask, why do people find it necessary to worry about other people’s decisions, especially when they’re not affecting them peronally?

--

--