Immigration

Grace Whittington
Social Problems
Published in
1 min readOct 12, 2022

Immigration is something I’ve always heard people talk about negatively my whole life from basically everyone but my parents. I always listened to the news or had friends/family talk about immigration in a negative light and painted them as the villains for just wanting a better life for them and their family. Especially once Trump was in office in 2016 was when I constantly heard people speaking negatively about immigrants. With all of the negative light shown on them people tend to forget about why they are trying to come here in the first place. As a society we have failed at educating ourselves on our involvement in Mexico and South America. The failure to realize that we are at fault for these families suffering is the root of our issue. It is unfair to say these hateful things when we can’t even understand what they have been through. I believe our politicians in the U.S, especially our president need to speak out about this since so many people have no clue what’s going on. Until we are all educated about this it will be so hard to make any kind of positive change in the U.S.

--

--