Microaggressions in everyday life(white supremacy)

Joshua Aycock
Social Problems
2 min readDec 12, 2022

--

Some common microaggressions I have run into this semester:

I was on a trip with a club at NC State, and I heard a conversation between two students, one white and one Indian; during this conversation, the white guy said: “you speak good English.” He thought nothing of it, but this is a common example of making someone feel like they do not belong.

I was recently in a convenience store in Henderson county and saw what looked to be the store owner following an African American as he shopped. It looked like he was used to being looked at and followed in stores, as he paid no attention to it.

Over the weekend, I was having a conversation with my uncle, and he said something that a lot of Americans think but do not understand the aggressions behind it. “I believe the most qualified person for the job should get it, or the most qualified person should get a spot at a university,” said my uncle. This can insinuate a person of color got an unfair advantage and did not earn their spot or job.

I went to the doctor recently, and another older white male patient mistakenly called a female doctor a nurse. This microaggression is a standard form of sexism, assuming a woman cannot occupy a high-status position.

Why are we not taught in school about microaggressions and how they constantly are evolving?

--

--