My Experience with Wealth and poverty

Brandon Braswell
Social Problems
Published in
2 min readOct 7, 2022

As a kid I grew up living with my mom for most of the time. My parents separated at a very early age in my life. I don’t remember anything other than knowing that I spend one weekend with mom, then one weekend with dad and the weekdays are with mom. I guess I thought that was normal for most people up until a certain age when I had figured out what had happened with my parents. As I grew older the main difference I saw between my mom and dad’s house was how we lived. I had two step brothers that lived with my dad and I was an only child with my moms. At my moms house we were well off, we had everything we needed and more. At my dad’s house times were not always the easiest, we were conservative with how we spent money and it was clear that we could get by at my dad’s house but it was not the same as my moms. I saw the difference that having two more kids can have on your financial situation and it has been something I have always worried about. The idea of can I support a kid has always been a question of concern and I think the idea that I have come to terms with is that I really do not want a child until I am financially stable. When I think back on this time I don’t want to say that I lived in poverty because there are conditions much worse than what I went through while at my dads but I definitely did see the change that just 20k could make on a family. At a young age that money did not seem like the difference between living comfortably and living consciously but now looking back that is exactly what it was.

--

--