Transphobia/Heterosexism

Rishi Jeswani
Social Problems
Published in
2 min readOct 8, 2022

--

Transgender is a very sensitive topic back in India. It is very hard for people to make their living in a regular way. Even coming out as gay or lesbian in front of their community is so hard for the people anywhere. There are very less number of people who are okay with the fact that their friend is gay or lesbian, rest of them do not feel like staying in touch with them. It takes a lot of strength and courage for one to describe their sexuality other than straight to anyone. One day, I asked some of my friends how they would feel if one day their best friend comes and tell them about their sexuality they all took it as a joke and started roasting each other. I got angry and explained that it is because of people like them that they are not taken seriously anywhere we have to change this thinking and start treating every one with equal respect.

Parents should have a talk with their children and ask them what do they feel about this and instead of being violent or pushing them to act like the majority in turn avoid the social norms when teaching their children about sexuality, and they shouldn’t attempt to push these norm upon their child considering that their child can make their own decision about who they want to be.

Back in my hometown, in India. Some people believe that the transgender people have some special powers, most of them are basically just stay at traffic lights asking for me and if someone refuses to give the people put a curse on them. Being born in a Hindu family my mother told me that since they cannot get jobs or work anywhere because of the gender discrimination God has given them some special abilities like that.

Now, I don’t really believe in that but I also think that being rude and violent is not fair to them as an individual. Some of my friends in college are now transgender and it doesn’t matter to me, they still my friends and they stand for me whenever I need them so the concept of friends is really not about the gender at all it is about the people who loves you and who you love. You just have to treat them as your equal.

--

--