Fashion is everywhere, even in a lawyers office.

Raj Tated
3 min readApr 4, 2017

--

When I started my brand a year back it was a real struggle to be tried and tested by people. My pitch wasn’t unique but all I knew I had to provide value to my customers for what they were anticipating.

I want my brand, TaTed to stand out from my competitors, but moreover, I want my customers to stand out, from the street to the runways.

And that was my basic idea, to look unique in the world of ordinary.

THIS WAS NOT JUST A PITCH FOR ME, I WANTED IT TO BE A MOVEMENT !!

And finding people with the same idea of a rebel who are deeming to look unique is the goal.

And three months back I got acquainted with On Mekahel, a USA based fashion model who had the same idea, to be unique, look unique.

He found about TaTed shoes, my company from his colleague and browsing through the website he found our ‘Be your own designer’ a platform where you can design your own shoes according to your preference of choice.

The idea of designing his own shoes fascinated him, so he gave it a try and designed his shoes on our website.

A couple of weeks later, we shipped him his shoes.

As a Founder of the company, my customers feedback matters the most, it is like a guiding light in the dark.

And that is what I did, I mailed On regarding his feedback on our product, to my surprise he was more than amused with our shoes and he said he felt really special with the packaging of our shoes which is a handcrafted box with his name engraved on it.

And this email conversation led to him expressing his love for shoes and how he wanted to start his own line of shoe collection cause like me his idea was also to look beyond the crowd.

That prompted me to offer him to design a limited edition capsule collection for TaTed shoes, I also told him that with every shoe one buys, we give a shoe to a kid in need with our ‘Own A Pair, Give A P air’ initiative.

He was excitedly on board.

And that is how I sealed my first collaboration, ‘OnForTaTed’.

Weeks of emails and phone calls and virtual design meets, we are finally ready.

What made ON’s collection so unique was his idea of having shoes with a blue sole, he felt people need to move on from the same old blacks and browns!

On for TaTed.

He wanted guys around the world to address their work attire in a fashionable way but yet to be taken seriously at the same time.

I mean fashion is everywhere, even in a lawyer’s office.

The point is that engaging in a conversation led my brand it’s first collaboration.

So take chances, make mistakes, learn from them!

Surround yourself with people who have the same ideals, similar goals.

Cause you don’t just build your brand, you grow, you get inspired!

To see the entire collection visit:

www.tated.co/onfortated

--

--