What the IRONMAN taught me about entrepreneurship

Clark Lagemann
Social Proof
Published in
8 min readFeb 2, 2016

Considered one of the most difficult endurance races in the world, the IRONMAN triathlon includes a 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike ride, and a full 26.2-mile marathon.

Participants are pushed beyond their perceived physical and mental limitations.

Last July, I traveled to Lake Placid, New York to attempt this challenge. Today, I recognize many similarities between endurance racing and entrepreneurship. In the words that follow, I’ll discuss the six main principles that helped me survive the IRONMAN and how they can help you in business.

It doesn’t happen overnight

One word: sacrifice.

I trained — hard — for eight months before the IRONMAN triathlon at Lake Placid, NY.

Sometimes my efforts were invisible to those around me. For example, while people were still asleep, I woke up at the crack of dawn to swim laps. Most times however, my absence at family gatherings was painfully noticeable. I chose to forgo spending free time with friends and family so I could get another bike or long-distance run in.

Was it tough? Hell, yeah. But there are no short cuts. You can’t “fake” training. And as an entrepreneur, you can’t fake all of the hard work and dedication that’s required in starting your business.

Well before I summoned the courage to quit my job and start a business, I spent every night researching. I watched videos and sought out knowledge from any source I could think of. And you know what? Even after all the sacrifice to prepare for the “big day,” participating in a triathlon or starting a business is STILL a completely humbling experience.

Will you make mistakes? Of course you will. But the training and preparation you invested in minimizes potential mistakes, positioning you and your business for long-term success.

You have to do it alone

It was early. Just before 7:00 am, I arrived at the starting line on the beach of Mirror Lake.

There were more than 2,500 of us; athletes wearing neoprene wetsuits and green or pink swim caps. I remember thinking that there is no way my family would be able to find me since I was just another ridiculous-looking green-swim-capped athlete in the crowd.

The gun fired and I’m slowly herded into the water. The old method of the mass start has been changed to a rolling start with the hopes that it will make the swim safer. Not exactly what I experienced within the first 100 yards since I was kicked in the face, had my goggles knocked off, and was pushed under water.

When I finally regained all my senses, I started swimming. I felt like a tiny fish in a school of fish. At that moment, I realized I was in this alone. I couldn’t wish for another swimmer to come along and give me a push, or for one of the scuba divers staring up at us to swim by and take me across the finish line.

I’ve learned that in business, sometimes we are hoping that an amazing sales person will come along and help us land those big clients. Or our fingers are crossed for the genius programmer to volunteer his services just because he loves the vision I have of my company.

I learned the hard way — you cannot rely on anyone but yourself to get your business off the ground.

I was lucky. I had co-founders who I trusted completely. And even still, I realized that if I do not fulfill my responsibilities 100%, then my business would never get off the ground. If you want success, be prepared to manage all of your duties. And if you can, provide assistance to others.

But never wish on a star that a programmer or sales guy in shining armor will come save you. That just won’t happen.

Race against yourself, not others

After the swim you dash through the crowd (and share a quick “hi, I survived” look with your family) to your first transition area. You change clothes and get ready for the bike portion of the race.

I pulled together my essentials and jumped on my bike. It was great. I relished the cool breeze on my face. I was happy I didn’t have to worry about how I was going to take my next breath without swallowing gallons of murky lake water.

After the first few hours, the excitement turned to fear. I was approaching the end of my first loop and the infamous “Three Bears” climb. I was cranking my pedals and grinding up steep hills when someone much older zoomed past.

My confidence cracked. Was I doing something wrong? I pedaled harder. Ultimately, a stupid move, as he and I were both competing in different races. It didn’t matter if he passed me or not. What I should have done was to focus on my goals, not his goals.

When I first started my business, I often compared myself to other companies. I wondered if VC invested in another company, or if another startup won a prestigious award. It was crazy to constantly worry about others and to try to emulate their success.

Entrepreneurs must focus on their business goals. This is crucial. Once you lose sight of your own goals, you’re moving into uncharted territory.

If you get passed by another company that you think shouldn’t be passing you, don’t overreact. Always follow your game plan and keep your business moving in the right direction — your direction.

The right fuel is critical

Nearly 10 hours into the race I was jogging into mile 3 of the marathon. All things considered, I was feeling pretty good.

Moments later, everything changed. I started to experience a deep, stabbing sensation in the right side of stomach. The pain was unbearable. I tried to grin and bear it, but I couldn’t. I was immobilized.

From what I learned after the fact, this feeling is not uncommon in extreme endurance races. Athletes even collectively refer to it as “gut-rot.” I was devastated this was happening since I had planned my race so meticulously.

And then to be suffering through one of the most painful gastrointestinal issues known to man — and with another 23 miles to go? Brutal.

Typically speaking, to endure through a race like the IRONMAN, you must consume 3–4 oz of water every 15 minutes and around 200–400 calories per hour. The process is very scientific and you can’t take a misstep. I must have missed something along the way and threw my body completely out of alignment.

How does providing your body the sustenance it needs relate to the business world? Fuel is akin to the peers and mentors you maintain within your circle. It is critical that you have the right mix that will help to keep you healthy during the low times and focused during the high times.

Personally, I try to surround myself with people who are doing very interesting and creative work. They stimulate my brain and challenge me to push my business. In addition, they are always there to assist me in my next course correction should I need it.

To be successful, you need your circle of trusted peers and mentors. Without them fuelling you forward, you and the business will reach a standstill.

Define your motivation

Hunched over on the side of the road, with my hands on my knees, I attempted to purge myself of the devastating “gut-rot.”

Did I want to quit? Not really, but it would have been so easy. Throughout the day, I saw a bunch of people drop out of the race. No one would have cared if there were one more athlete who quit because he reached his limit.

And I was in bad shape. I couldn’t stand up straight — it was obvious I was in agony. I could have chalked it up to bad luck and told myself I’d just try again next year. But this race wasn’t just about me.

I was motivated to raise money for blood cancer, more specifically the Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation. Many of my friends and family helped by donating to this cause — they were counting on me. I had 7 hours to regain my composure and get across that finish line. Today I was going to be an IRONMAN.

When you’re starting a new business, at some point things are going to get very tough. Before you’re at that point, decide what will be your deeper motivation.

Is it to leave corporate America to work for yourself and have more freedom? Is it so you can be around your family more often? Is it to change the world? If you say the engine that drives you is “money,” go deeper.

We all want to make more money, but money in and of itself is not a goal that will get you through those moments when you’re retching on the side of the road.

Keep challenging yourself

Directly across the street from the famous 1980 hockey match between USA and the USSR was the Olympic Oval. This was also my finish line. The crowd was going nuts. I even fought back a couple of tears of my own.

I had to remind myself that the achievement of completing the race was not going to be won when I crossed the finish line, but had taken months of work, dedication and sacrifice. The opportunity to have this experience with my family in attendance was very special. And when I heard from the legendary Mike Reilly, “Clark Lagemann, YOU ARE AN IRONMAN!” Unbelievable! All the hard work was worth it.

After recovering in the medical tent and replenishing my fluids, my family and I made it back to the house we rented for the week. Before I went to bed that night I told my wife I was planning on doing the race again next year. “Why?” she asked. I explained I was sure I could complete it in less time. She thought I was crazy. How could I have gone through nearly 17 hours of pain and months of training only to immediately say I want to do it again?

The challenge. In life, we always need a new challenge to tackle. If you aren’t challenging yourself, you are not living. The race is never over.

Next year, I’ll have a green swim cap on my head and my feet will be on the starting line. Where will your challenge take you?

--

--