How Creativity Works

It is like a hormone

Shukuru Amos
Social Rhetoric
2 min readApr 6, 2024

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Men in the past lived as both hunters and prey. The chances of succumbing to an act of barbarism or a fatal natural incident were high. If there was no war, there was famine, and if there was no famine, there were epidemics.

For that reason, men in the past had raging high testosterone. Today, testosterone in men is at an all-time low.

To understand creativity, we should think of it as an as-needed hormone. Like testosterone for men. Why would your T-levels be high if you live in a peaceful, cooperative society?

Creativity is like that. It is an as-needed skill.

Why must you be creative if you're well-fed in your parents' comfortable basement?

It is only when you're bothered or uncomfortable with something that you want to change it. So uncomfortable that you are restless and have to get out of your crib, launch yourself into the unknown, ask questions, and figure things out.

That's when you summon creativity, and it answers. It can't be attained from some capacity-building programs or reasoning in college.

In other words, the skill you develop is a defense mechanism to some hostility in your environment. High T in men was necessary as they navigated a hostile, uncivilized world.

I can give an example from my own life: the "Who Knows You" system was hostile to me. As a dispossessed village boy, I suffered a network gap. To increase my chances of landing a job, I had to be good at creating content online. My eloquence and rhetoric came about as I tried to tell my story to the world so someone may find me relevant and compelling.

It worked so well that I ended up not needing a job. I built an audience of 36,000+ followers on LinkedIn, which has become a constant stream of clients for our marketing and website services.

Want to be creative and impose your will on something? Start by identifying what is bothering you.

--

--

Shukuru Amos
Social Rhetoric

Content Alchemist; building & executing content strategies for B2B brands, Founders and Freelancers.