Dough the Freshkid’s Latest Album “Tal’s Cafe” Details Growing Up In South Central LA

Tallie Spencer
Social Soundtrack
Published in
3 min readJul 6, 2020
‘Tal’s Cafe’ — Dough the Freshkid

South Central artist Dough the Freshkid is a multi-talented entrepreneur and music mogul who began building his music career from the ground. The self-made artist proves to be a prominent force to be reckoned with, and is continuing the momentum of dropping a lyrically powerful album that is about “bringing the hustle aspect back into the game.”

His recent release, Tal’s Cafe, dropped on June 10 and details his upbringing in South Central, Los Angeles. The album tells the story of triumphing over systemic racism, poverty, and other generational curses that he’s dealt with, and pours into his music.

“I consider myself a street-conscious MC,” Dough the Freshkid (DTFK) said in a recent interview. “I have a classic ‘90s hip-hop sound mixed with some of today’s sound. Most of my music production includes heavy bass instruments, classic pianos and soul samples.”

“I have a million unbelievable stories I can tell about my experience living and growing up here,” he continued. “Harassment and being jacked up by the crash unit (LAPD) is irrelevant to speak on, because this was a norm to us.”

Through his album, DTFK speaks about his life experiences and how it has shaped him into the artist he is today. DTFK, who’s been on the grind for nearly a decade and has past releases such as Black Rome and Arlington Avenue: The Roaring Sixties, is no newcomer to the game. Each of his projects tell his story, and Tal’s Cafe is no different. While his past albums tell the story of struggle and hardships that have happened in his past, Tal’s Cafe tells the narrative of DTFK’s triumph over tribulations and presents his optimistic look at what the future may hold for him.

“The music I create is a summary of my life experience in the past and future,” he said.

The newest album further expands on growing up in South Central, witnessing the crack pandemic of the ‘80s, and overall gang violence in the streets.

In the track “You’re Welcome,” DTFK details losing his aunt to cocaine usage, and how his uncle has never been the same since. DTFK takes audiences back to his childhood and the heavy experiences that he’s been through, while discussing the emotional tolls that it has taken on him.

“I say ‘We throw out white doves at funerals for pure life, lost my auntie Brenda at 12 years old from some pure white, and my uncle Floyd ain’t never been the same, when we lost auntie Rosey he ain’t never been the same.’ This is a true story,” he continued, “my uncle Floyd, who is still living, lost two wives at a young age and this is something I witnessed and the transition of his life — the pain he still suffers from.”

“Prolific Hussle” is another standout track on the album where DTFK delivers some clever bars that will undoubtedly force audiences to think. The song is a dedication to the late-rapper Nipsey Hussle, where he praises him for everything that he’s been able to do for the community, but also acknowledges that growing up in South Central comes with having enemies and doing things “by any means necessary.”

“People say I’m a storyteller, but that’s the only way I know how to make music, I have to report what I see and what I live through,” he said.

You can stream Tal’s Cafe on Spotify.

--

--