Making Zoom Meetings a Little More Social

Since my personal and professional lives still exist exclusively on Zoom, I’m looking for ways to keep it interesting.

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Socializing in the Oasis

--

Photo Courtesy of Jacob Lund

In many ways, I feel like we’ve come full circle with socializing on Zoom. At first, starved of face-to-face interaction, we were all desperate to make the most of interactions on Zoom. I remember my partner commenting on how he was connecting with his friends more than he had in years in the first few months of the pandemic.

It’s been over a year since then and things have changed. For me personally, my volume of meetings has increased dramatically in the last six months, which makes it a bit harder to enjoy socializing on Zoom. What became a fun opportunity to see people when we’re physically apart sometimes feels like more of a chore than a treat.

On a good week like last week, my calendar looks something like this.

A good week… like last week! Very mild ides of March.

On a bad week, it’s more like this.

--

--

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Socializing in the Oasis

Brooklyn-based writer and poet. Designer in NYC. Drinks books and loves coffee. Has an MS from NYU in Integrated Design & Media. Working on an MFA in Fiction.