Preserving Ojibwe Hymn Singing

--

A story from Minnesota Public Radio

Dan Gunderson produced this story on preserving the tradition of singing Ojibwe hymns in Minnesota. This gives a good look at the importance of singing hymns within this small community in Minnesota, and we get a taste of the singing as well. As White Earth Tribal Chair Erma Vizenor expresses this, “I’ve seen our singing be a part of social change. I’ve seen our singing bring our people together during times of the worst times of mourning and death. I’ve seen our singing celebrate on Easter morning,” she said. “It strengthens us. I love the Ojibwe hymn singing. I hope I can sing it until I draw my last breath.”

--

--

Chelle Stearns
Society for Christian Scholarship in Music

Associate Professor of Theology at The Seattle School of Theology & Psychology