Member Spotlights: Emily O’Donnell

Society of Work
Society of Work
Published in
2 min readNov 16, 2017

Recently, member Mary Helen Montgomery talked with Emily O’Donnell about her role at the Women’s Fund of Greater Chattanooga.

Emily O’Donnell, Photo by Erin Wood at Startup Picture Day @polar-notion

Mary Helen Montgomery: Give a brief history of your background and education.

Emily O’Donnell: I was born and raised in Decatur, Georgia. I went to Sewanee for undergrad and received a B.A. in Political Science. After college, I worked for an environmental conservation program through Americorps in Flagstaff, Arizona. I then went to Georgia State University College of Law. After law school I moved to Chattanooga and took the Tennessee bar.

Mary Helen: What organization do you work for?

Emily: The Women’s Fund of Greater Chattanooga. We are a nonprofit working to improve the lives of women and girls through advocacy and philanthropy.

Mary Helen: Is there something that surprises people about the work that you do?

Emily: People are surprised to hear that Tennessee ranks 49th in the US in the status of women. They usually knew we were bad, but not THAT bad!

Mary Helen: Describe the evolution of your organization and where you are headed.

Emily: The Women’s Fund started about 10 years ago. Our founders believed that the Women’s Fund could help other nonprofits by serving as an advocacy organization for women and girls. By addressing the root causes of inequity with women and girls, our organization could enhance the great work of other nonprofits that provide services.

Each year, we lobby the Tennessee legislature for laws that improve the lives of women and girls in Tennessee. Currently, we are working to move Tennessee from 49th in the US to number 1! It’s a lofty goal, but I think we have a great plan for progress.

Mary Helen: When do you do your best work or come up with your best ideas?

Emily: My best ideas hit me when I’m hiking in the woods and my best work comes from collaborating with the amazing women on the Women’s Fund staff and board.

Mary Helen: What do you like to do outside of work?

Emily: I like to go swimming, hiking and camping with my husband, Johnny, and our two daughters. I also love yoga and laughing with friends.

Society of Work is a membership based shared office space that’s creating a culture for you to get things done. Want to join us? Set up a tour.

--

--

Society of Work
Society of Work

A membership-­based shared office space that's creating a culture where things get done.