An Alternate Reality

A poem about a glimpse of how our world could be

Socrates Cafe on Medium
Socrates Café
2 min readAug 20, 2020

--

Photo by Matthew Fassnacht on Unsplash

Written by Chudi Oraedu

On no particular evening

I stared at my bathroom mirror,

Caught the gaze of my own reflection

And in that finite moment of understanding,

He spoke.

“Where are you?” He asked.

In an instance of stupor I responded

Without pause,

“I’m in the bathroom.”

He insisted in his question,

“Where are you?”

I persisted in my answer,

“The bathroom.”

He shook his head.

His lips moved with a confidence I could never find within my own,

And he said,

“No,

Where you are is in a state of conflict,

A deep confusion that manifests into never-ending depression.

You are living in constant chaos.

You inhabit this plane of existence because you’ve seen no other way.

But I can show you something different.”

I beg him, “How?”

And he offers:

“Let me take you through my alternate reality,

A reflection that’s void of your society’s blemishes.

An alternate reality

Where a woman can make one dollar to every man’s one dollar

And that is the end of the discussion.

Where bullets are banned for tearing through flesh instead of the books

that teach us to be different;

Where having pigment of a brown shade

Does not criminalize you and faith in the Quran does not translate into

“Terrorist”;

An alternate reality where no human life is illegal and

We tear down our walls of ignorance instead of building them

Where no one dies of famine in a world that can feed everybody

A place in which our profit does not dictate our freedom;

An alternate reality

Where black men aren’t greeted with gunshots

And gifted with jail cells

Where there is no “good” skin tone, no “good” hair

Where every girl blessed with melanin

Is told that she is beautiful and she is worth it and that ebony is

strength

Because it is the truth;

An alternate reality where we care about each other

More than our fake fodder materials

A land in which our minds are not confined to tiny cells in tiny screens

Where we aren’t absorbed in this façade

And we can express ourselves through more than the things we bought;

A world where we’re less concerned with being liked and more concerned with making a difference

Where we’re not too numb to value something real and free and beautiful;

An alternate reality where we can hold hands and take that last step

Forward

Toward that inevitable horizon as one.”

My reflection stops speaking

His words are so vivid,

I can see it,

I can feel it.

It’s there and

It’s true and

It’s tangible…

Almost.

I reach out and

Nearly touch this alternate reality

But my hand is intercepted by

Glass.

I’m just in the bathroom

And my reflection still stares back at me.

--

--