Super delicious food in supermarkets

Education Matters
SoEStudent
Published in
3 min readMar 3, 2023

by Shuyu Wang

Hi again!

After sharing my daily life in Sheffield, I would like to recommend some of my favourite snacks to you in today’s blog. All of them can be found easily in supermarkets here, and are great for taking a bite when you fond of good food.

When I have not come to Sheffield, my friend, who used to be an international student in the UK, recommended ice cream by Ben & Jerry to me. As she put it, it was too sweet when she ate it for the first time, but would miss it a lot if she quit it for a few days. Thus, I bought one called ‘half baked’ as soon as I saw them in the freezer.

Indeed, it is so sweet that, I cannot help but feel like the producer’s sugar are free of charge. Also, it is not as smooth as gelato since it has brownie and cookie dough in it, which means you can taste two flavours at a time. Strangely, though it tasted so cloying, I had eaten it up when I came back to my senses.

For the second time, I tried the flavour called Vanilla Pecan Blondie. As a base, the vanilla ice cream is not sickly sweet. On the contrary, there is a strong milky fragrance, mixed with caramel sauce, white brownies and caramelised pecans. Since I am a huge fan of ice cream with nuts, it is still my first choice after trying so many flavours.

By the way, ice creams produced by supermarkets’ brands, such as Waitrose, Tesco and M&S, are also worth having a try. Among all of them, I would strongly recommend Pistachio ice cream by M&S and Colombian coffee ice cream by Waitrose. If you are a pistachio or coffee lover, you will definitely fall in love with this two items for their real stuff.

Speaking of snacks, I have to mention one of the most popular categories, crisps.

Crisps by Tyrrells was highly recommended by my roommates when we were wandering around the shelves. Interestingly, she called the brand ‘three people crisps’ because it has three people on the package.

Top 1 flavour in my opinion is sweet chili & red pepper without hesitation. Each potato slice is not as thin as crisps from Walkers (another brand), but it tastes right in and does not overdo it. Let me put it this way, I would spare half my suitcase to take it back to China.

Plus, what is worth mentioning is that Sheffield is the home of a vegan crisp, whose brand is called Henderson’s Relish. It can be found in small packages in the shop of Students’ Union, and is a best choice for vegetarians and people who are allergy to gluten. It has a similar taste to regular potato crisps, with a slightly sour taste. If you ask me, I would say it is kind of like the tomato-flavoured Lay’s crisps in China, but without the sweetness.

Another famous category here is cookie. Since I am a sweet tooth, my little trick for picking cookies is that, cookies named ‘shortbread’ are usually not bad. But before buying, be sure to check the allergen ingredients on the list behind!

Thank you all for being here!

Hope my recommendation would be of some help to you, and wish to see you again in my next blog!

Shuyu Wang is a student on the MA Education course at The University of Sheffield.

--

--

Education Matters
SoEStudent

Research, Scholarship and Innovation in the School of Education at The University of Sheffield. To find our more about us, visit www.sheffield.ac.uk/education.