Education Matters
SoEStudent
Published in
3 min readDec 22, 2021

--

We’re delighted to welcome blogs by one of our student ambassadors, Hien T Dao, who will be sharing posts about her experience of coming to Sheffield and studying on our MA Education course. T Hien joins the School of Education from her home country of Vietnam.

What a lovely day in Sheffield!

The sky is clear and blue, the sun is shining brightly on the trees, and there is a light breeze blowing from time to time. I stretched out like a cat after a restful night’s sleep beneath a warm blanket.

A fresh morning in Sheffield

So it’s been a month since I first arrived in this city and began my study at The University of Sheffield. This place has been extremely accommodating to me, and I am grateful for that. I sat motionless, remembering the frantic and stressful days spent preparing the university admission application and other paperwork. Knowing that a year would pass quickly, I hoped it would be one to remember. I still recall the late nights I spent scouring the university websites and searching for alumni groups to contact with questions. At the time, I had a lot of questions and concerns.

When I chose The University of Sheffield, I remember being unsure if I had made the right decision. I sat and recited the reasons to myself: Strong rankings indicate better future employment prospects; the university is also rated as having a great student experience; “this is exactly what I was looking for,” I screamed. Students can also apply for a variety of scholarships offered by the institution. As a nature lover, Sheffield’s abundance of trees, gardens, and parks appealed to me; in fact, I’m planning a trip to Peak Garden with some of my classmates. I just feel so excited about it and can’t stop myself from thinking about it.

Diamond building, University of Sheffield

And there had to be too many compelling reasons for me to believe that I had made the right decision now. I like how the course MA Education is structured because I’ve had the opportunity to study in a large class with all of my classmates, where I gained a lot of academic knowledge; at the same time, I’ve had the opportunity to study in a small group, where we discuss, share, and critique each other to consolidate knowledge and develop language skills, teamwork skills, and critical thinking.

My thoughts have come to a halt as a result of my hungry stomach. Now that it’s the weekend, I’ve decided to stock the fridge and cook some delicious meals. I’m always the same, full of energy whether I’m at school or at home, and today I have to go to Moor Market to see what I can get for myself. Oh, wow, it’s such a lovely day in Sheffield.

#Sheffield #MAEducation #School_of_Education #University_of_Sheffield

T Hien

--

--

Education Matters
SoEStudent

Research, Scholarship and Innovation in the School of Education at The University of Sheffield. To find our more about us, visit www.sheffield.ac.uk/education.