Introduction

Jin Chen
Soft Skill - Presentation
2 min readFeb 21, 2018

I am going to focus on the topic of “Presentation” for this project. The reason that I chose this topic is it plays a big role in our daily life. The presentation was far away from my life when I was in China.

In China, we were not being taught about the presentation at all, especially before going to the college. It was rare for us to stand in the front of the classroom and present. After I got here, I realized how important the presentation is meant to everyone. Like the presidential election, business-related meeting, interviewing, teaching, expressing your idea, group work, etc. They all relate to “Presentation”.

On my point of view, a presentation is that you are showing something to someone, can be a person or a group of people, in given time. It is different from the communication. While you are presenting something, the majority of this presentation is that you’re the one who is talking most of the time and deliver your idea of something to others.

In a communication, it is more like you are discussing something or just chatting with others, rather than only one person is talking. The presentation is also the same as the communication because your audiences will come back to you after your idea is delivered.

The questions that I will be trying to answer through this project might be:

Why is presentation important?

How to improve your presentation skill?

What shouldn’t you do while you are presenting?

My goal for the end of this project is to give myself some instructions and tips on presentation skills.

First I am going to search some articles that can give people a guide or tips for a good presentation. Then I will be exercising it to see if it works. Hopeful, I can finally get some improvements on my presentation skills.

--

--