Learn from yourself

Jin Chen
Soft Skill - Presentation
2 min readMar 4, 2018

Like I said in the last post, I am going to continue reflecting my previous experience to find something that can improve my presentation skills.

Last summer, I had a Marketing course at UB (not Humber College in the last post). We got a project that requires us to make a real marketing plan, and we need to present it at the end of the semester.

I was working at my part of the project, which is calculating the budget. The calculating part was super easy for me, but I was stuck at the time of preparing the presentation of my part. I don’t know what information should be in the presentation.

Instead of thinking about what my audiences need to know, I was focusing on how can I finish my part within a specific time, like 2 minutes.

On the present day, I saw other groups’ budget part did really well, and it was easy to understand, which is the thing that I did not consider in my presentation. Although I wanted to revise my part, there was no time for me because my group was the next one.

Eventually, I just general summarized my part with a rough introduction, not like other group, they have specific number for their budget and good reasoning for that.

From this experience, I learn that you cannot compress your whole report into the presentation. Instead of that, you need to find the key points that your audiences must know, to make them understand your presentation or your deliveries.

I will continue digging my past to learn from myself, to find what mistakes that hindered my way, to know what challenge I have to overcome, etc.

In sum, the most useful tip for all of us is reflecting to your past experience to correct your mistakes.

--

--