Practice is important

Jin Chen
Soft Skill - Presentation
2 min readFeb 25, 2018

As a college student, I have done a lot of presentations in class. I always missed some points that I want to say during any presentations. Sometimes I even could not tell a sentence fluently. I tried to use note cards, but it did not help at all, it actually distracting me from the presentation.

So I took a speaking class that is set up for international students in my first year at UB. The reason for me to enroll that class is not only for improving my presentation skills but also to improve my speaking skills.

Actually, that class was required, I did not want to take it. It was tough for me to pass this course due to my personality of an introvert. I can say that the presentations I did in that class are more than the presents I did in my previous life.

After I had been through countless practices, I felt like something is different. It became easier for me to present in front of people, but I still got nervous sometimes.

So practicing presentations is helpful.

I think it’s because of I had lack of confidence. During the presentation, I was thinking about what is going to happen if I say something silly, why my hand is shaking, what is the next sentence, why I cannot think about any other things, etc.

After I got comfortable with my classmates and well-prepared for the presentation, the structure becomes clear in my mind. Right now, I will still get nervous if I present in front of strangers. If I fully-prepared, I think I can get through the presentation. For the practice, I mean you write down some notes, not complete sentences, and present it in front of the mirror until you can say out loud without your notes.

That is the most memorable thing I learn from the speaking class. I will continue discussing the skills and tips that I learn from my past experience.

--

--