From theory to reality

Givary Muhammad
Soft Skill Research
2 min readMar 14, 2018

I am not an avid nature-born presenter, and just like I said on previous entries, practice makes perfect.

I observed this great presenter in my professional development class, and I actually did write some stuffs on what made him successfully delivered his messages. This is a couple of them: good postures, professional-looking, and calm. I know that list seems basic, but I can elaborate that.

On my experience as typical college student, I don’t pay attention to how I look. I remember my first time presenting for my English class, I literally wore sweatpants and school hoodie. Definitely not looking so professional, and I was pretty sure NOBODY paid attention to me even though I talked about the legality of human cloning. That time, I was also anxious and most of the time stuttered and “choppy talking”.

After my mini observation to that presenter, I tried conversing smoothly with my friends, and it was not a hassle at all. Just take time to gather what you’re trying to say and voilà- you get the idea- speaking while you’re calm would alter that choppiness on how you speak!

Despite the informal situation of the class I was in, this presenter actually dressed up head to toe — my best bet would be to build his credibility persona while transmitting his intended message. Of course, this have an effect on how we taking that information seriously, since dressing up means business is on. I’d definitely invest more in business style dresses-dress shoes, sweaters, dress pants, all that business style.

Referring to the presenter’s good posture, this does not mean how he stands up but also include how he control his body accordingly. Also known as body language, this would be the challenge for me. I know it takes quite a ton of practice to master it, but actually one thing from his body language that striked me was that he did not stand in just one spot — he roamed back and forth the front part of the classroom, meaning that he indirectly sending message that us, the audience, needs to pay attention to him.

So yeah, I’d totally try the last steps on realizing my gestures and combining it to my presenting skills I have.

--

--

Givary Muhammad
Soft Skill Research

Turning coffee into words and meaningful numbers, mostly.